1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

FAT 32 to NTFS!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by indrajit, Sep 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I'm running Windows XP Professional with SP 2 installed. I'v got a 40 GB HDD with three partitions, C,D and E, C being the primary(system) partition. The D & E drives are configured with NTFS file system but my C drive has FAT32 file system. Is there any way of changing the file system to NTFS without re formatting the partiton and re loading windows? :?:
     
  2. demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    ya there is one through DOS
    but i suggest not to do it(not due to data loss but due to cluster size)
    any way here is the way to do so
    go for
    run->command
    in command prompt type(only in winXP)
    convert/?
    this will give u all the details in simple manner u can do it like
    convert c: /fs :ntfs
     
  3. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !
    Go to Start--> RUN and type " cmd" without the quotes...

    then type
    "convert c: /fs:ntfs " with out the quotes... :wink:

    It will prompt u to do it at next reboot ..say yes... :wink:
     
  4. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    i think win xp gives an option to upgrade to ntfs try right click and see (sorry i am in debian right now so cannot confirm it)
     
  5. parthbarot

    parthbarot New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    .::OnLine::.
    simple
    convert command in dos
     
  6. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    JAK wrote:
    perfect solution .. just an addition to the msg. . it'll say u need to unmount the drive and whethere u should force it to unmount .. ofcourse choose no ... then it'll give u the restart option .. that time click yes
    and next time search the forum
    right here === > http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3568&highlight=fat32+ntfs
    see ?? :D
     
  7. abhishekkulkarni

    abhishekkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amche Pune
    Tell me guys if i convert an existing FAT 32 partition in to an NTFS one by the method spoken about above , will i lose the data on the fat 32 partiton?
     
  8. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !

    Nope u shall not lose any data.... :wink:
     
  9. Thor

    Thor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Absolutely not. I've done it myself.
    SO go ahead make ur day.
     
  10. #/bin/sh

    #/bin/sh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    42.65 N 73.76 W
  11. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I wonder what linux has to do with this thread ?
     
  12. demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    what so ever convert command is for converting without loss
    but yes it \\\\\\?????????????????
    ]
     
  13. walking-techie

    walking-techie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so indrajit !! finally was ur problem solved !!!
     
  14. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    But converting like this wont give u all the benefits of NTFS, for true NTFS properties, ull need to format and reinstalll. and choose NTFS as the FS while installing.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page