FAT 32 to NTFS!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by indrajit, Sep 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. indrajit

    indrajit New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I'm running Windows XP Professional with SP 2 installed. I'v got a 40 GB HDD with three partitions, C,D and E, C being the primary(system) partition. The D & E drives are configured with NTFS file system but my C drive has FAT32 file system. Is there any way of changing the file system to NTFS without re formatting the partiton and re loading windows? :?:
     
  2. demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    ya there is one through DOS
    but i suggest not to do it(not due to data loss but due to cluster size)
    any way here is the way to do so
    go for
    run->command
    in command prompt type(only in winXP)
    convert/?
    this will give u all the details in simple manner u can do it like
    convert c: /fs :ntfs
     
  3. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !
    Go to Start--> RUN and type " cmd" without the quotes...

    then type
    "convert c: /fs:ntfs " with out the quotes... :wink:

    It will prompt u to do it at next reboot ..say yes... :wink:
     
  4. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    i think win xp gives an option to upgrade to ntfs try right click and see (sorry i am in debian right now so cannot confirm it)
     
  5. parthbarot

    parthbarot New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    .::OnLine::.
    simple
    convert command in dos
     
  6. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    JAK wrote:
    perfect solution .. just an addition to the msg. . it'll say u need to unmount the drive and whethere u should force it to unmount .. ofcourse choose no ... then it'll give u the restart option .. that time click yes
    and next time search the forum
    right here === > http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3568&highlight=fat32+ntfs
    see ?? :D
     
  7. abhishekkulkarni

    abhishekkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amche Pune
    Tell me guys if i convert an existing FAT 32 partition in to an NTFS one by the method spoken about above , will i lose the data on the fat 32 partiton?
     
  8. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !

    Nope u shall not lose any data.... :wink:
     
  9. Thor

    Thor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Absolutely not. I've done it myself.
    SO go ahead make ur day.
     
  10. #/bin/sh

    #/bin/sh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    42.65 N 73.76 W
  11. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I wonder what linux has to do with this thread ?
     
  12. demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    what so ever convert command is for converting without loss
    but yes it \\\\\\?????????????????
    ]
     
  13. walking-techie

    walking-techie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so indrajit !! finally was ur problem solved !!!
     
  14. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    But converting like this wont give u all the benefits of NTFS, for true NTFS properties, ull need to format and reinstalll. and choose NTFS as the FS while installing.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page