Far Cry - Issues

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by icecoolz, Nov 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    hey guys,

    Well I didnt know exactly where to post this so MODS please feel free to move it to the relevant section if you feel the need to:

    Here's config:

    AMD Athalon 2600+ Barton
    Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
    Hynix DDR 333MHZ 512 MB
    80 GB Samsung HDD
    GeForce 6800 NU
    17 inch monitor

    Here is my issue.

    I'll try and give as much detail as I can. If you guys need more info let me know and I will get it to you ASAP.

    My HDD is partitioned as so :

    c - 10 GB - Windows XP with SP2 - NTFS
    d: - 20 GB - program Files and personal files - FAT 32
    e: - 30 GB - Games - FAT 32
    f: - 15 GB - no data - FAT 32

    There are quite a few issues. But as of now Far Cry isnt working ever since I installed SP2. I tried reinstalling uninstalling nothing seems to work. I tried everything from the compatibility mode to uninstalling SP2 . Far cry simply refuses to work. It just crashes in the first screen itself. I checked the error file and the following files are listed as being the error list :

    Far Cry.exe
    Kernel32.dll
    MFC42.dll

    and so on. These are standard Dlls I realise. I thought my XP CD was corrupt borrowed a friends and installed it. Still the issue pops up. I just got my RAM module and my CPU and mobo changed. So I dont forsee issues there. Could my HDD be a problem ? Apart from the C drive all the other drives are FAT32 is that an issue ? Cos not only FAR CRY but the OS reboots for other things as well such as DJ apps and other music apps. I am using my on-board sound card and also Creative Soundblaster sound card as well. I am really finding it difficult to isolate the issue. Any ideas guys....
     
  2. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Btw, far cry has a few bugs wiht he 61.xx series of nvidia drivers.[the blue fog shit]

    Far cry is a badly coded came[the guys at ubi forums say so]
    Oh and , the fary cry 1.2 patch was recalled, cuz it had problems with certain hadware.

    Most prolly its ur copy of farcy, if its a pirated one , u might have probelms. [i did :p]
     
  3. OP
    OP
    icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    shyte....well I am gettin the 1.1 patch...lets see with that...Its worryin cos the game crashes even b4 it starts off and I have gotten quite far in it.....wanna finish it....no its not a pirated one...its the original....got it along with my 6800 NU...will try and update the drivers as well...lets see...
     
  4. nikhilesh

    nikhilesh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    change e: to ntfs.

    will lessen disintegration.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    which brings me to the next quesiton : Can I keep my data on E and convert it to NTFS ? Dont think I can....
     
  6. OP
    OP
    icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Problem solved. It was a rolled back the graphics driver to the one that was supplied with the card. Now it works fine. Now my other question is, Is it advisable to change all the partitions to NTFS ?
     
  7. gamefreak14

    gamefreak14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cochin
    If you have a 7200rpm drive...the change to NTFS will give you a huge boost in per4mance, I say this from personal experience. Now coming to converting, I don't think it's possible. why not transfer contents to some other drive, format 2 ntfs and move it back?
     
  8. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    It is possible

    start>run>cmd

    convert e: fs:ntfs

    rather "convert fs /? " this should bring the help menu, chose the desired handles and add them.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    thanks ice... will check it out and let u know if there is any change to the status..
     
  10. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page