External hard drive

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by shanku, Feb 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shanku

    shanku New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hello Members ,

    I bought an external hard drive ( Enter casing + seagate combo) today . I can see it there in the Device Manager ( as disk drive and USB mass storage device ) but can not find it in 'My Computer' or through 'Windows Explorer' and hence can not use it .

    I am using Windows XP with sp2 . :?

    Help please and thanks in advance for your replies .
     
  2. susk21

    susk21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have you installed drivers properly? Some devieces need driver even if it is XP.Also check it in your friend's computer.If it is a CHALU MAAL then it wont work there too!!! :wink:
     
  3. OP
    OP
    shanku

    shanku New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    It installed automatically and the device manager does not show any problem . I have received one cd with the packet of the 'Enter' casing . The cd has 3 folders under usb casing called fr5x2 , fr6x2 and fr632a . Since this has been automatically detected and was not prompted to insert the cd , I really do not know if I need to do something with the cd .

    So hoping for a solution before I try it in friend's computer ..
     
  4. contactram

    contactram New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in the device manage right click on your hard disk and look at the options
    if an "import foreign disks" option is available click on it
    or the hard disk can be dynamic in which case u will see an option "activate" or something like that.
    i had a similar problem when i formatted my new hard disk to be a dynamic volume
     
  5. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    There was a similar problem with a friend.
    The culprit then was the USB cable.
    Try changing it.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    shanku

    shanku New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Thanks , I solved the problem .. the 'logical disk manager' and the 'removable storage' had been turned off by me ( ref : Digit ,Nov 2003 , tips and tricks , page 88 ) .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page