1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Establishing a LAN

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bizzare_blue, Feb 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bizzare_blue

    bizzare_blue New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow
    I have three computers at my home...One laptop n two desktops...all with Win XP SP2 installed. Recently I took an internet connection and all the computers are connected to a switch using CAT 5 cables i.e. all three have seperate net connections....Now I want to connect the three computers to share files among them....is it possible to do the same without installin any new hardware...if yes then how?
     
  2. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    eh /
    if they are all connected via switch then all u need to do is enable sharing on each pc ..
    and then access each using their UNIQUE IP ADDRESS assigned in the lan properties ( tcp/ip )
     
  3. OP
    OP
    bizzare_blue

    bizzare_blue New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow
    Can anybody tell me the exact procedure of establishing the network? I know the IP's of all the systems and enabled sharing of some folders all the systems.
     
  4. munim2020

    munim2020 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    You don't need to do anything at all.
    Since all the computers are already connected to a switch, they are already configured for internet.
    It seems your computers already have their IP addresses set.
    Just run the home networking wizard on all the computers. It should work..
     
  5. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    first check if all PCs have net access...if so they have ip assigned. Now all u got to do is goto network connections and tcp/ip properties. Here u set file and printer sharing enabled !!!
     
  6. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    if the computers are connected to the net that doesnt mean they are configured for itnernet
    thats a router NTO a switch


    now to access the computer just type in "\\ip address of computer" without the quote
    for eg \\192.168.0.1
    u will see a list of folders shared on that computer.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    bizzare_blue

    bizzare_blue New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow
    Thnx "theraven"....I worked it out....ur tip was gr8 help....Thanx again
     
  8. OP
    OP
    bizzare_blue

    bizzare_blue New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow
    A problem has popped up

    When I entered the IP address of one system from another one, I was able to c all the shared docs of that system. But wen I tried vice-versa...it gave an error saying
    "\\IP add is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the Administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions."

    I have configured both the systems in the same ways and have used the correct IP's....How can I resolve this problem?
     
  9. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    turn off simple file sharing from tools => folder options
    set permission for the user on the client machine

    or simply make sure the user in client machine is the same as the user on the server and has admin rights .
     
  10. OP
    OP
    bizzare_blue

    bizzare_blue New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow
    Actually I don't even know how to set permissions...and by the way I dont think there's some client-server setup as such....Also there was no simple file sharing option in tools=>folder options....Plz help....
     
  11. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    by client server i simply meant
    server = machine ur tryin to access
    client = machine ur accessing from ..

    simple file sharing is under tools=> folder options under the view tab
    last option !
    untick it

    permissions are set when u right click on the folder ur sharing
    then under sharing tab
    theres a permissions button
    set it to all for administrators

    make sure the user on each machine is the "SAME"
    for eg both computers have the username of say "bizzare_blue"
    and have admin priveleges
    now try accessin
     
  12. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page