1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

enable opacity.How ?

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by LEARNER_LEARNER, Jan 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LEARNER_LEARNER

    LEARNER_LEARNER Fedora User

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Dwarika)
    Hi bro 1st Happy new year 4 all digit member.I want to enable opacity but which software nd how.plz guide me nd i'm using FC6 with KDE 3.5.
    plz help me bro.......:neutral:
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2007
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Enable opacity? Everything is opaqe. You mean transparency? If yes, do you have beryl/compiz? Otherwise you won't get true transparency.
     
  3. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    What are you talking about mate??
     
  4. OP
    OP
    LEARNER_LEARNER

    LEARNER_LEARNER Fedora User

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Dwarika)
    Hi tech_your_future nd tuxfan,yes i've both software.
     
  5. subratabera

    subratabera Just another linux lover.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, KA
    AFAIK you can get true transparency in KDE without beryl. Its somewhere in the control panel, appearance tab. It will give a warning while enabling but you can ignore it. Then logoff and login again to get the true transparency. You can get the settings in window's system menu...
     
  6. OP
    OP
    LEARNER_LEARNER

    LEARNER_LEARNER Fedora User

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Dwarika)
    thanx subratabera nd u r right true transparency in KDE,i saw after enable transparency.
     
  7. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    That's true transparency? I'd like to see a screenshot of that. I have seen transparency in KDE but not true transparency.
    I am on KDE, will see if I can get any such thing.
    Learner_Learner please be more clear what you are saying. Your question is confusing.
    And if you have beryl and compiz both, then remove one preferably compiz.
     
  8. subratabera

    subratabera Just another linux lover.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, KA
    Here are the steps to enable true tranparency in KDE without Beryl...

    Control Center-->LookNFeel-->Window Behavior-->Translucency-->Use translucency/shadows

    You must use XOrg >= 6.8 for translucency
    Additionally, you might need to add a new section
    to your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file:

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection

    Now logoff and login back...

    Welcome to the world of true transparency (with cool effects)...
     
  9. OP
    OP
    LEARNER_LEARNER

    LEARNER_LEARNER Fedora User

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Dwarika)
    Hi tech_your_future don't be confused.my problem solved by subratabera.ThanX bro bye bye
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page