Efficiency of RAM....

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by neerajkumar_4, Feb 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. neerajkumar_4

    neerajkumar_4 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Hello guys ........i've bought a new 256 MB RAM a month a ago n yes ive found difference in the speed of my system but i jus wanna confirm that my RAM is efficient n properly working

    and yes i have Norton Internet Security 2005 installed which slows my PC down but ive no big problems in playing Far Cry

    so can any 1 tell me as to how am i suppose to find out whether my RAM is fine or not??

    n 1 more thing coz when i was installing RAM i had big problems in compatibility but at last found 1 proper 1.........

    THANX IN ADVANCE......................plz help
     
  2. rachitar

    rachitar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    As in such efficiency of RAM i dont know much
    But you can check if your RAM has bad sectors or no by using the memtest software at www.memtest.org
     
  3. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya memtest will do the job
    better boot from a linux cd cd a check
     
  4. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    go to www.memtest86.com and download the iso .. burn it to a cd and u will have a bootable memtest86 cd .. boot from the cd and let the test run for min 4 hours. if u get no errors , your ram is fine.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    neerajkumar_4

    neerajkumar_4 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    hi thanx a lot guys i've downloaded the ISO it was jus in KBs.......... will it really run for 4 long hours??? is it completely safe guys???
    im trusting u...
    plz dont let me down.
     
  6. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya it is trusted and tested way to check RAM dude
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page