Dvd Rom Does Not Gets Detected

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by ::vicky::, Aug 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    hi

    i am using windows xp SP2 few days back i removed my data cable AND power cable of my dvd rom and when today when i switched my power cable and data cable back on dvd rom it is not being detected by the windows xp sp2 .

    following happens after switching on the computer (dvd rom connected)

    a) i can open and close tray

    b) i cannot see the drive icon in my computer

    THANKS IN ADVANCE ANY SUGGESTIONS WILL BE APPRECIATED

    THANKS!!!!!!!!! AGAIN!!
     
  2. OP
    OP
    ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    hi

    i am using windows xp SP2 few days back i removed my data cable AND power cable of my dvd rom and when today when i switched my power cable and data cable back on dvd rom it is not being detected by the windows xp sp2 .

    following happens after switching on the computer (dvd rom connected)

    a) i can open and close tray

    b) i cannot see the drive icon in my computer

    THANKS IN ADVANCE ANY SUGGESTIONS WILL BE APPRECIATED

    THANKS!!!!!!!!! AGAIN!!
     
  3. zombie

    zombie Resident Weapons Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri
    Problem with the IDE cable or the connector on the board. To check whether IDE cable is faulty, try using a different cable that is working fine. If that works then you know the culprit. Try using a different IDE drive (working) if the cable is OK. If its not detected even with a different cable then problem may be with the mobo connectors and may need servicing. Just my two cents.
     
  4. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it means that the power cable is connected properly but not the data cable...
    remove n connect again...
     
  5. thecyclone2k

    thecyclone2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    www.solinweb.net
    Hope you didn't flash it!
     
  6. shivkumar

    shivkumar >>>>>Monkey Power

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    enroute to hell
    most likely thing is that u have not connected the ide cable properly. remove and reconnect the cable everything sud work fine
     
  7. ranjan2001

    ranjan2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Delhi
    now i am having the same problem but it was working fine till last evening & I have not made any changes.
    I cant see it in the bios nor the device manager but its powered up when xp boots up & I can open it & close it, its just not getting detected, how do I force detect it.

    Could be some chnage in bios.
    I am using asus P5b dlx wifi latest bios

    SOLVED
    it was the power cable connector which was powering it but one of the socket was loose hence causing the problem
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  8. sourishzzz1234

    sourishzzz1234 Q6600 Underclocked

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Howrah>>Kolkata
    What's the cost of a new IDE cable
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page