dual channel query

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Omsck, Dec 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Omsck

    Omsck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mars
    hi
    what is dual channel memory? i have 1*512 ram, would it have made any difference if it was 2*256? does dual channel speed things up?
    nd if i make total ram upto 1gb, will it give a huge performance gain over 512mb? i hav athlon xp 3000+ nd asus a8-nvm....
     
  2. Arsenal_Gunners

    Arsenal_Gunners New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,202
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to know details about dual channel go here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual-channel
    yes it would make a difference if you had 2*256mb rams but only a slight one
    i have tried both 2*512 and single 1 gb sticks.but didnt notice any significant increase in performance.in short no huge performance gains.
     
  3. gsmsikar

    gsmsikar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    india
    do u want to try or u need exact answer ?
    if u want to try then try it yourself or else
    go according to ur motherboard ....
    if it says that it support dual channel then u should use two memory sticks of same speed with the motherboard .., as u say that u r using AMD then u should go for Dual-channel architecture DDR/DDR2 SDRAM,
    and for better result go for Dual-Channel DDR400,
     
  4. gsmsikar

    gsmsikar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    india
    how to know which RAM module is dual channel capable or not ?

    i am getting a
    UMAX DDR DIMM 512MB module with 8 chips (U2S12D30TP-5) in a single side and the other side is empty ...

    is that dual channel not?
     
  5. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    A double sided ram,and a set of ram running in dual channel is 2 diffrent things. It seems that you are confusing them
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2007
  6. gsmsikar

    gsmsikar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    india
    i am not confusing them , for them i had given the reply correctly ,,

    but in my second post i wanted to know that how to know if a RAM module is Dual Channel or not?
     
  7. blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    RAM modules are not dual channel, its the way you install them on your mobo that makes it dual channel. Basically, there are 2 channels on your mobo (provided your mobo supports dual channel) throught which data is transfered to and fro the processor and the RAM. If you place 2 RAM sticks on 2 different channels you are increasing data transfer thoroughput by double. One analogy to this is 1 lane road and 2 lane road. 1 lane road is similar to single channel mode where only one line of cars can move at one time. In a 2 lane road, 2 lines of cars can move at the same time therby increasing traffic throughput. On a 2 lane road you will reach your office faster, similarly your PC will speed up when on a dual channel mode.
     
  8. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Dual channel memory are designed to use both channels of your motherboard memory controller. Though you can have 1*512 you are not utilizing the true data throughput from the memory controller, for that memory should be installed on both the channels of the motherboard. Usually the chanels are color coded. It usually written on the mobo as well.

    About the performance gain, practically speaking you would only notice difference in heavy multitasking or during game level load time.
    __________
    All DDR ram support dual channel configuration. You just need to set them up correctly on a dual channel supporting mobos.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page