Dos Command Needed.......

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by satyamy, Oct 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I want to Copy One file/folder from Source D:\Old Data 2003\etools
    & Want to paste it to Source E:\New Data

    Wht will be the dos command for this
    If i type cmd in Run one window open with source
    C:\Documents and settings\Satyam

    I want to write command from here only and not from moving to Source D:\Old Data 2003\etools

    It is easy to go to Source E:\New Data & just type copy command but wht will if i want to write command from C:\Documents and settings\Satyam

    If anyone knows pls help
     
  2. Sourabh

    Sourabh Laptoping

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    copy D:\Old Data 2003\etools E:\New Data

    should do it
     
  3. OP
    OP
    satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    thanks a lot Friend
    __________
    i m unable to copy the folder with name like "1 tools"
    or "copy of 2004"
    i think dos is unable to take space in folder name
    i m using winXP
    what to do to copy such folder from dos
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2006
  4. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Come get Some

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    put the file name in "" i.e for new winamp file as "new winamp file"

    copy "new winamp file.ext" <location>
     
  5. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Or just press Tab key after typing first letter of the file, windows will automatically display filenames matching with the letter :)
     
  6. aadipa

    aadipa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palghar, Mumbai
    There is some diff between how copy and xcopy works.
    copy will not copy zero length files. So if you want to make exact copy of a dir, use xcopy

    Code:
    C:\Documents and settings\Satyam>xcopy "D:\Old Data 2003\etools\<file/folder>" "E:\New Data\" /s /i /e /k /h
    
     
  7. OP
    OP
    satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Thanks a Lot Friends
    This Solved My Prob.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page