Domain name doubt

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by cnukutti, Aug 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cnukutti

    cnukutti New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai,India
    Guys my free webserver had provided me with two dns servers
    ns1.dnsserver.com
    ns2.dnsserver.com
    My doubt is that if i set the dns server entry with my domain name registrar will I be able to get to my site.
    Because I have two accounts with the server and both has the same dns servers. Please can someone explain how this DNS server works.
     
  2. firewall

    firewall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata - INDIA
    as ur hosting service provides dns , i think u must signup with them with your domains individually. so it will work. just change the dns in domian control panel.

    and as per as how dns works.. it's prety long stroy... will discuss it some otherday in good mood. ;)

    :)
     
  3. OP
    OP
    cnukutti

    cnukutti New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai,India
    Can i buy a domain name here with Rs.400 and make it point to the original website. Is it possible. I have heard about IP redirecting or something like that . Is it the only way?
     
  4. firewall

    firewall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata - INDIA
    There is two scenario, if your domain provider has URL redirection service then u can easily point your domain to ur site address, say to http://urname dot free hosting dot com..

    and if ur domain registrar doesnot have such service u can try www.mydomain.com. it provides Free of cost domain rediredting with it's own dns plus free unlimited email forwarding also...

    :)
     
  5. Ricky

    Ricky Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If you have baught a domain name then just told ur webhosting to set it on there server then after change ur nameserver to ur hosting companies nameserver ..

    well now all provide domain redirection.. even u can buy domain and hosting at one place.. :D
    ..
    like
    http://domains.mgcyber.net
     
  6. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    doesn't matter actually..
    your web host will point that domain to your directory..

    now lemme explain in simple english..

    your host have set one rule if someone requests for the domain domain.com then it should be pointed to the directory domain

    and for that only he asked u to enter his DNS servers in ur domain panel..

    i hope i have cleard ur doubts..

    Deep
     
  7. go4inet

    go4inet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    u need to point the name servers to where you have got ur hosting account !

    once ur name servers are active, you can upload the files and start viewing the files which you have uploaded ...

    need more doubts...? google'them up !
     
  8. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    hmm..
    you can upload the file even if your domain is not active..
    host will give u ip address and login details..
    you can upload using that...

    that's what people do so that visitors dont see blank site..

    Deep
     
  9. adityastar

    adityastar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you will assign those dns to your domain name then it will be redirected towards your web host.

    Then from your control panel of your hosting account you need to assign your domain name to your account. This can be done by using the Add Domain feature of your hosting account.

    If you havn't purchased a domain name and want a free for your free hosting service then you can get one from here ~snipped~ for free.

    You can use it to try for the DNS change as it is free.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 5, 2009
  10. Disc_Junkie

    Disc_Junkie Call me D_J!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ WTH!! Please look at the date of the last post before posting. The last post is five years old.:x
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page