does ftp support resuming????

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by tango_cash, Dec 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tango_cash

    tango_cash New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi i am new to ftp.
    can downloads from ftp be paused and resumed??
    which is the best ftp sftwr??
     
  2. blueshift

    blueshift Wise Old Crow

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Inside the Pixel
    yes it can be resumed.

    I find SmartFTP pretty good. I have been using it for over an year.
     
  3. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    It depends on the server whether if supports resuming or not.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    tango_cash

    tango_cash New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have heard of cute ftp how's that???
     
  5. ~InstaShock~

    ~InstaShock~ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey well that is a matter that depends on the FTP server you're connecting to , if that FTP server supports resume, then yes resume is supported otherwise NO :p but yes most FTP servers do support resume.
     
  6. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    right...

    well while u r downloading most FTP server will support Resume... but while uploading the number just reverse.. most FTP doesnt support resume while uploading...

    but again this is my personal experiense... :rolleyes:
     
  7. shantanu

    shantanu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
  8. royal

    royal New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    most ftp servers support resume functionality ;)

    If you try to download a file from ftp using DAP , it shows whether resume is supported or not :smile:
     
  9. shantanu

    shantanu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    yes and at use a good ftp client to handle it
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page