do you believe firefox 2.0 is worth the wait?

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by shankar_ganesh, Dec 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shankar_ganesh

    shankar_ganesh New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tuticorin, Tamil Nadu
    comments please
     
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    What wait? It is already released.
     
  3. ambandla

    ambandla Sup' dude, Sup'

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bangalore
    worth the wait? I didn't wait for much time for Firefox2. Now, firefox 3 is coming.

    The question should be : Is IE7 worth the wait?

    answer: Nope. not at all.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    shankar_ganesh

    shankar_ganesh New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tuticorin, Tamil Nadu
    i mean, do you think that there have been a significant improvements in firefox 2?
     
  5. AshishSharma

    AshishSharma Livin' in the ghetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hmm .... Home
    IE7 somehow looks feels and works better with Vista but Firefox still rulez [​IMG]

    Has nyone tried Firefox 3... reviews haven't been good so far ... ny known improvements by chance ?
    [​IMG]
     
  6. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Atleast wait for FF3 to release. At this point FF3 will be very buggy, it's just an alpha release yet.
     
  7. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Who just woke up? :eek:

    Firefox 2.0 is already out and We all await the revolutionary 3.0 yet again as usual.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2006
  8. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Qwerty now you gonna start a browser war. And anyone getting into a browser war is gonna get a week off into Miserable Users Land.
     
  9. Kiran.dks

    Kiran.dks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune, India
    :D This shows frustration! Instead just suggest them to go through 'Fanboyism'! ;)
     
  10. dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I love the spell check of FF2....it is really helpful.
     
  11. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok T_Y_F, it was me right? Fine, I wont say any browser is good anymore. Just that Opera... hehe...

    Edited previous post...
     
  12. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    I am talking about everyone in this thread who said IE/Opera is good/bad, I pointed you out cos many people will pick up this statement of yours and start a browser war again. We know very well that people are finicky on subject of browsers and OS's.
     
  13. ilugd

    ilugd Beware of the innocent

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the subject should have had 'was' instead of 'is'. 'Do you believe firefox 2.0 was worth the wait?'

    I for one, didn't notice anything different. Only that tabs have their own close buttons and that the tools dialog box is laid out differently. I did have problems with some extensions not working with 2.0 but now most of them have new versions which do.
     
  14. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, people, tell us what you want in browsers apart from what's already present!
     
  15. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Ahh, I thought somebody had digged up an old thread..:D

    Qwerty, diverting the topic eh ?

    BTW, I want Firefox to launch fast and take less resources.:)
     
  16. navjotjsingh

    navjotjsingh Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    I don't think won't be possible in near future....though nowdays 2.0 seems to use a bit less RAM then 1.5....let's wait what 3.0 will show us! Even IE is resource hungry...try opening all sites opened on your ff with ie...mem with ie would be greater than FF!
     
  17. anilmail17

    anilmail17 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    i m using opera and i m like opera only no FF no IE
     
  18. ax3

    ax3 Cool as a CUCUMBAR ! ! !

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,387
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    is FF2 error ie less CPU usage & does it support FF 1.5 extensions ?
     
  19. PainKiller

    PainKiller thug for life...2pac

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nEw dElHi [wEsT]
    FF used to be gr8 in early days. now its takes too much RAM. try using it for 2 hours continuously, u will see. on the other hand IE is quick and doesnt take that much RAM...... comments please :)
     
  20. codename_romeo

    codename_romeo Romeo + Lucifer = ME

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well i m using firefox 2 to reply u
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page