1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

Do we need sp2 for windows XP???

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by nishantv2003, Oct 26, 2004.

?

Do we need sp2 for windows XP???

  1. NO

    98.3%
  2. YES

    1.7%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nishantv2003

    nishantv2003 We Both Have a Mouse!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    M.P.
    how many of u guyes think sp2 for xp is essential,because after installing many of your software andhardware wont work properly(t.v.tuner card does not work properly with sp1 also, atleast my). :(
     
  2. krazydude

    krazydude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Follow me and I shall set u free
    My PC works fine without it
     
  3. saROMan

    saROMan QA Juggler

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    format c: /s/u/x
    well as a matter of fact..u do........if u r not conn to inet..then u donn even need SP1 ....but donn wanna mess up PC after connetin to net......SP2 is a must ..for ur own security..........hehehehe
     
  4. VD17

    VD17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    mine runs perfectly well and secure without it... all you need is a good anti-virus and a strong firewall...
    in fact, i found more problems than solutions with SP2...
     
  5. amitpagarwal

    amitpagarwal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    if u connect to internet then sp2 is nessasary...
    even otherwise it has a good firewall and other security features...
    go for sp2.
     
  7. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    sp2 fixes a lot of security bugs in windows. .. it is a MUST if ur online as drgrudge mentioned
     
  8. VD17

    VD17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    oh well... i seem to be proving otherwise... ;)
    i just hate it the way it screws the system performance....
     
  9. svk

    svk New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cochin
    sp2 is damn necessity for xp.
    never go online without it for ram/christ/allah 's sake
     
  10. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    sp2 sucks...
    I have SP1, I don't use any firewalls and I use Firefox....
    And I have never got any virus....
    So I don't need SP2
     
  11. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    mine is windows xp with sp2 in build , so i didnt install again...
     
  12. saROMan

    saROMan QA Juggler

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    format c: /s/u/x
    me to.....Sp 2 integrated......so cant tell u wat diff it makes w out SP2....
     
  13. lavan_joy

    lavan_joy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In your heart
    I Like SP2 .I need it....
     
  14. zenblue

    zenblue New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think sp2 is a necessity if someone is using internet on winxp..it definitely has lots of improvements compared to sp1 or plain XP in addtions to all the bug fixes till the date it was released...but "Data Prevention Execution" feature sometimes do prevents some softwares from running or even installing..also some of the activeX contents are blocked by internet explorer by default when some website tries to install it...you can install it by clicking at appropriate links there but it does creates some problems for someone migrating from sp1 to sp2...slight change in working of some aspects...but i would still say its worth every bit of it...
     
  15. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    You will need all the service packs that M$ releases. Their OS (especially WinXP) has so many bugs that they will release a service pack only in case of critical updates. If they care to release patches for all bugs, they will not be able to release Longhorn for many more years. :roll:
     
  16. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Why SP2 with so many Bugs some of the programs mite not working fully irriated!!!!
     
  17. wORm

    wORm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    Installing SP2 has increased the performance of my PC. Also, there are people under the impression that anti-vir and firewall can keep an unpatched PC safe, well I think its better to be safe than sorry.
     
  18. beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    To answer ur q: Nope
    U very well dont need even sp1 juss update against the blaster nd frnds
    and use a browser like opera or mozilla.
    The major stuff get into the system thro ie not cuz ie is weak or bad just cuz it is famous nd most of the ppl use it.So the nut who makes a worm makes it for microsoft products like ie or outlook.The way to avoid it is simple.
    All the other possiblity is by downloading files if u kno wat ur downloading and wat sites u vist then i guess we all can avoid virus and bugs.
    Sp2 makes the system a hell lota slower half the stuff stop workin.
    Why the hell use it wen u can live without it?
     
  19. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    sp2 sux ..
    makes comp slower and it full bugz
    applications dont work properly with it !!!

    just keep installing the security updates .. . that's all you need ..
    no need of sp2

    and those thinking of sp2's firewall .... most of us use ZA or other third party firewalls. no need of xp's firewall

    and those who think that ppl connecting to net shud have sp2 ..
    let me tell you .. my comp stays ON for 24hrs a day, 7 days a week
    and im always connected internet from lan
    i never got a virus
    just keep installing the security updates .. that's all u need
     
  20. Godmode

    Godmode New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SP2 screws some of the softwares like Norton systemworks..some games and stuff...that;s why some ppl are skeptical about installing SP2..

    People talk straight to the point rather than saying SP2 is not good...give some real examples
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page