1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Do i need a new processor????

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by moshel, Jan 30, 2006.

?

Should I change my Processor

  1. Yes U must!!!

    100.0%
  2. It might work out good for u if u do

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No need to change processor(pls give reason)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moshel

    moshel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat
    Hey guyz,

    i need some help......see currently i have a decent enough system but just sometimes i feel its a bit slow maybe becos of the processor. here are my sys specs

    Mercury 845 gl motherboard
    Celeron 2.4 ghz processor
    512 mb ram
    Geforce 6200 256 mb agp card
    80 + 40 gigs HDD

    all games run properly but sometimes they become a bit slow. one of my frnd told me that the processor is slow as its only celeron.
    so what should i do???
    should i change the processor? is it possible to change the processor only and not the motherboard.
    as hardware vendors keep saying to me that if u want to change processor, u have to change the motherboard too....
    if i can change only processor, then which processor should i go for?
     
  2. icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I have a Athlon 2.2 ghz and it works fine with most games. The lag you encounter could be mainly due to lack of RAM (I have 1 gig RAM) or due to your graphics card not being able to handle the rendering (I have a nvidia 6800). Easiest option would be to increase your RAM and you should see a marked diff in games. And there are plenty of P4 processors which will work just as well on your motherboard. So no u dont need to change ur mobo.
     
  3. rachitar

    rachitar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I think best is to change your processor to P4.
    Dont know about its compatibility with your current motherboard though
     
  4. zombie

    zombie Resident Weapons Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri
    Moshel, bhaila...what kind of games are you into and at what resolution ? 512MB is good enough if you dont turn on all the eye candy. But if you want all the goodies, go for 1GB RAM. Preferably 6600/6800. Coming back to the 'core' issue, 845GL will support max FSB of 400 MHz, so your choices are limited. Here are 2 links for you. The first one gives you the list of CPUs in P4 (non-HT)class while the second one gives comparison between top 3 CPUs compatible with your mobo.

    http://indigo.intel.com/compare_cpu/default.aspx?familyID=1

    http://indigo.intel.com/compare_cpu...850365,848645,850364&familyID=1&culture=en-US

    Bhai, suggestion saru lage to PM karje. Happy hunting.
     
  5. phatratt

    phatratt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mysore
    celeron has lesser cache mamory u will find some lag or slower framerate,just bring down the resolution and turnoff several graphics options and enjoy better frame rates.the question is why upgrade by spending thousand bucks just for fewer framerates??If gaming is u'r hobby then i would suggest to upgrade the entire rig.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    moshel

    moshel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat
    hey guyz,
    thanks for the info
    now i am deep into trouble of overheating woes
    i think my processor is overheating
    when i first start my comp the power tempreture in around 30 deg c
    and when my computer restarts with a blue screen error, i see the tempreture at 57 Deg C.

    so what should i do in this case now, change the processor and motherboard
    my hardware vendor is saying abt 8k for a AMD 2800 64 bit motherboard and processor
     
  7. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well if u do have the bucks ,
    then movin to AMD is the smartest thing to do
    jus make sure tht the mobo u get has a lot of upgradable features

    i suggest
    MSI-rs480m2-il
    but sadly it has a PCIE slot
    so ur agp card wont work on it
     
  8. OP
    OP
    moshel

    moshel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat
    no way im moving to PCIE, i just bout new agp card last month, and i feel theres still time to go before it becomes out of date....
    suggest me good motherboard/processor of amd in 8k range
     
  9. zombie

    zombie Resident Weapons Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri
    My two cents...

    Dude its better to opt for PCIE as its the way to go and its better to buy a mobo with PCIE if at all you want to buy a new one. But as you said that you want to stick around with AGP, then dont go for a new mobo rather try to add some extra fans to your cabinet and if it still doesnt work out then go for a new CPU rather than older mobo + CPU combo.
     
  10. saiaspire

    saiaspire Guest

    Hey! A celeron takes ages to decode gaming arithmetics, so change ur processor and if u have cash, then add some ram.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    moshel

    moshel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat
    no hardware ppl are ready to change the processor only.....
    im also trying to get some hardware engineer to maybe do so thermal grease to see if this thing gets done temporarily, as i dont have much money to invest.
    still checking for prices in range of 8k guys tell me good amd mobo+processor in abt 8k
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page