display is bloody dark!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by pchaterji, Dec 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pchaterji

    pchaterji New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all! I have a peculiar problem. My comp (P3, 512MB SDRAM, Win2k) recently went away for an overhaul and came back with a few bells and whistles added. However, the display is just too dark! I can see the desktop fine and word files etc are fine, but open a photo/movie/game and the dark areas are so dark that I can't see anything. While playing Max Payne, for example, it was almost totally black. I managed to fix that to an extent by pushing the game brightness to max, but with other games (wolfenstein, NOLF, Hitman, NFS UG), I can't see a thing. The monitor's contrast and brightness are at 100% each, and the guys who overhauled the comp tested it with another monitor and video card (I have a basic TNT2), but said it didn't make much of a difference ie it was almost as dark. Anyone have any ideas and/or suggestions?

    Thanks

    Pablo
     
  2. Ethan_Hunt

    Ethan_Hunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,219
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay, India
    Well I suppose the Monitor HAs Lost It's Edge And The Picture Tube HAs Been Fiddled With......To Test If its ur Graphic Cars Problem Then Try the card at ur friends place and if it turns a black out at his place as well Then Ur Graphic card is the possible culprit and then definetly have to get rid of it......And if its ur MOnitor's Problem Then Sonsult ur hardware dealer and get ur Picture Tube Replaced MAte.... :D
     
  3. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    right click on your desktop then goto

    properties... settings(tab)... advanced(button)... TNT2(tab)... colour correction(item)

    then increase the birghtness and contrast from there....

    and also Have you tried upgrading your driver??
     
  4. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    he has already told that he checked it on a different monitor...
    So his monitor is most probably okay...

    And as far as I know that TNT2 is mostly an inbuild card which can't be taken out...
     
  5. Ethan_Hunt

    Ethan_Hunt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,219
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay, India
    Well Now lets see If TNT 2 Is an Inbuilt Card Then Why the Hell Cant it be taken out...... :? As my Friend's TNT2 M64 Was taken out by my Hands.....and i suppose its a graphic or AGP Card and is not a integrated one So I suppose we can remove it for future Expansion mate..... :D .....And yea Agreed For the Monitor Checking Thingyyy..... 8)
     
  6. Sourabh

    Sourabh Laptoping

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    well TNT 2 is an AGP card
    try installing some relatively old orginal nvidia drivers
    the newer drivers are not advices for tnt2 cards
    most probably its just from ur pc-settings for the color n stuff
    is ur dispaly bright in DOS bootup process??
    do post in abt ur discovery :wink:
     
  7. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to control panel > display > Settings > Advanced > Colour, and check the gamma setting. It should be 1. If its already at 1 then try increasing it and if it helps
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page