1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Disabling Norton Antivirus 2002

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by cheetah, Dec 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheetah

    cheetah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vice City
    Hi,
    I have Norton AV 2002 installed on my WinME OS.
    I want to know how to deactivate it temporarily.I have disabled from the settings menu but sometimes a DOS Windows appears with a beep sound. :evil:

    For example when i try to use a Mailbomber named KABOOM3.Norton detects it.I have put this in file exclusions but this DAMN Dos window is driving me nuts. :roll:

    Please help as i have lots of security tools which i want to try but unable to do so becos of Norton.
     
  2. siddharth

    siddharth New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bathinda
    Well, try going to the help section and trying out there. There's a specific way. I dont think the way you didit will help
     
  3. futuristically_ancient

    futuristically_ancient New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On ma recliner...!
    make a system restore point before trying this out !
    go to the run command in the start menu, n type msconfig. press enter. go to the startup tab, in the window which comes. in this window, uncheck all those strings which relate to NORTON ONLY. then go to the services tab in the same window, and then uncheck ALL NORTON OR SYMANTEC RELATED SERVICES!!
    exit this console
    restart ur comp

    now u can see all ur norton products disabled.

    wen u enable ur norton products again, jus check all those strings in msconfig, which u had unchecked earlier!!!
     
  4. theKonqueror

    theKonqueror CCIE# 20863

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside the Matrix
    Instead of MSCONFIG, I will suggest u to manually remove the startup entries with Regedit.

    Go to Start>Run. Type regedit. then Traverse to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>Software>Microsoft>windows>Current Version>Run.
    Now Delete all entries that have Symantec or Norton in their value.

    Then go to
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>Software>Microsoft>windows>Current Version>Run Services.
    Again, delete as above.

    Go to
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER>Software>Microsoft>windows>Current Version>Run.
    Again same.

    This will definately help U. :lol: :lol: :lol:
    U can also disable any other annoying softwares with this methode.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page