1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

difference between ddr and sd ram

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by technovice, Oct 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. technovice

    technovice New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utopia
    Hi! What are the advantages of a DDR ram over a SD ram?
     
  2. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    it is cheaper than sdram and besides sdram is static memory and ddram is dynamic memory...

    [​IMG]
     
  3. #/bin/sh

    #/bin/sh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    42.65 N 73.76 W
  4. allajunaki

    allajunaki New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere In my room....
    Dude U need to check ur facts before u post anything....

    SDRAM = Synchronous Dynamic Random Acess Memory
    DDR-SDRAM (Yes DDR is a Special type of SD) - Double Data Rate SDRAM

    Whats the diff.?
    Well SDRAM pumpsout data Once very clock cycle
    So if u have a RAM that can pump out say 1MB per Clock cycle , then when Ram is running @ a speed of 100Mhz (100x1000 hz) we get 100x1000 MB per second...

    Incase of DDRRAM ,Data is pumped out TWICE a clock cycle
    So if u a Module that can pump out 1MB , Then since it can pump out twice every clock cycle (Raising and Trailing edge of a Clock Cycle) it can pump out 2MB per clock cycle...
    hence @100Mhz we have 100x1000x2 MB ... (We now have double!! )
    In order to make this all simple a DDR400 runs at an Hypothetical 400 Mhz (but Actually its running @ 200Mhz, But it pumps out data twice as much as conventional RAM hence they say its 400MHZ)
    Code:
    SD RAM
    Clock Pulse  _|-|_|-|_
                    ^   ^  -- Data
    DDR RAM
    Clock Pulse _|-|_|-|_
                 ^ ^ ^ ^     -- Data
    
    and BTW SDRAM and DDR are both Dynamic... there is nothing 'Static ' about it.... :roll: :wink:
     
  5. OP
    OP
    technovice

    technovice New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utopia
    neat explanation allajunaki!
    thanks for the link #/bin/sh
     
  6. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    static ram :roll:

    well rest allajunaki has stated nicely ;)

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page