difference between ddr and sd ram

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by technovice, Oct 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. technovice

    technovice New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utopia
    Hi! What are the advantages of a DDR ram over a SD ram?
     
  2. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    it is cheaper than sdram and besides sdram is static memory and ddram is dynamic memory...

    [​IMG]
     
  3. #/bin/sh

    #/bin/sh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    42.65 N 73.76 W
  4. allajunaki

    allajunaki New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere In my room....
    Dude U need to check ur facts before u post anything....

    SDRAM = Synchronous Dynamic Random Acess Memory
    DDR-SDRAM (Yes DDR is a Special type of SD) - Double Data Rate SDRAM

    Whats the diff.?
    Well SDRAM pumpsout data Once very clock cycle
    So if u have a RAM that can pump out say 1MB per Clock cycle , then when Ram is running @ a speed of 100Mhz (100x1000 hz) we get 100x1000 MB per second...

    Incase of DDRRAM ,Data is pumped out TWICE a clock cycle
    So if u a Module that can pump out 1MB , Then since it can pump out twice every clock cycle (Raising and Trailing edge of a Clock Cycle) it can pump out 2MB per clock cycle...
    hence @100Mhz we have 100x1000x2 MB ... (We now have double!! )
    In order to make this all simple a DDR400 runs at an Hypothetical 400 Mhz (but Actually its running @ 200Mhz, But it pumps out data twice as much as conventional RAM hence they say its 400MHZ)
    Code:
    SD RAM
    Clock Pulse  _|-|_|-|_
                    ^   ^  -- Data
    DDR RAM
    Clock Pulse _|-|_|-|_
                 ^ ^ ^ ^     -- Data
    
    and BTW SDRAM and DDR are both Dynamic... there is nothing 'Static ' about it.... :roll: :wink:
     
  5. OP
    OP
    technovice

    technovice New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utopia
    neat explanation allajunaki!
    thanks for the link #/bin/sh
     
  6. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    static ram :roll:

    well rest allajunaki has stated nicely ;)

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page