Difference between a bridge and a switch?

Dear Team
I am new to networking(ethernet).
I am unable to understand the difference between a bridge and a switch!
Pls explain it in detail with CLEAR FUNDAS.
Thanks.
Aman

A bridge with more than two interfaces (ports) is also known as a switch.

Detailed info here - *www.erg.abdn.ac.uk/users/gorry/course/lan-pages/bridge.html

If you're new to networking, you should start by understanding the OSI model architecture.
*www.erg.abdn.ac.uk/users/gorry/course/intro-pages/osi.html

Keith

theraven

Technomancer
simply put
a bridge is used to divide a network into 2
whereas a switch connects multiple terminals together centrally

if u have a really large network u can divide it with the help of a bridge

it would work something like

10 computers connected to switch (1st network)
10 computer connected to another switch ( 2nd network)
and both networks connected thru a bridge !

and ofcourse detailed explaination is in the links above

rachitar

Journeyman
A bridge connects two different LAN networks
A switch is something like you can connect many computers to a switch and then one computer can connect to another through the switch.
Switch is a unicast one to one connection

OP
I

imagineer_aman

Broken In
thanks Keith,theraven,rachitar.

As of now i understand that...
A bridge can connect ONLY 2 networks(2 ports).
A switch can connect MORE THAN 2 networks(Many ports).

rachitar

Journeyman
imagineer_aman said:
thanks Keith,theraven,rachitar.

As of now i understand that...
A bridge can connect ONLY 2 networks(2 ports).
A switch can connect MORE THAN 2 networks(Many ports).

Switch cant connect MORE THAN 2 networks
It can connect more than 2 COMPUTERS

digen

Youngling
rachitar said:
Switch cant connect MORE THAN 2 networks
It can connect more than 2 COMPUTERS