determine power supply watt

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by freakabhishek, May 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. freakabhishek

    freakabhishek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi
    i HAVE THIS QUANTUM CABINET WITH QUANTAM POWERSUPPLY
    THE SPECIFICATION WRITTEN ON IT IS
    smps p 1v 400k Ac Input 230/115 50/60 Hz

    can anyone tell me what is the wattage of this smps as i was thinking of buying a new smps with more power supply of around 400 or 500
     
  2. OP
    OP
    freakabhishek

    freakabhishek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there noone in this forum who can help me
    common guys please reply
     
  3. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    230/115 50/60 Hz

    230/115 This is the input supply voltage.

    50/60 Hz This is frequency of the input voltage.

    If the wattage or the ampere ratings of the different voltage rails are not mentioned, you cannot find the wattage.

    If the ampere ratings are shown, you can calculate wattage of each rail and sum them up to know the total wattage.

    W=ExI
    For eg. 15 amperes on the 12V rail will give you 180 Watts.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    freakabhishek

    freakabhishek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Its not written anything else then what i mentioned and i cannot figure what is the watt thats why i want ur help
     
  5. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    If nothing is written reg. the wattage or ampere ratings, I feel the unit is not likely to be reliable and you better buy a PSU of a known brand with wattage depending on your configuration, than damage your Mobo and peripherals (even your CPU) by connecting to a doubtful PSU.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    freakabhishek

    freakabhishek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thank for ur advice
    one more thing canu tell me how much a 500 watt smps costs
    branded and non branded both
     
  7. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    I am able to tell you only the prices from online stores because only cheap 400W PSUs are available here and nearby towns.
    500W Antec SP-500 costs Rs.4983/-
    500W Antec NeoHE-500 costs Rs.6466/-
    These are prices from http://www.theitdepot.com/
    500W Zebronics costs Rs.1300 as per http://www.deltapage.com/

    The prices should be much lower in the local stores, if available.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    freakabhishek

    freakabhishek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi guys
    i have got 400 watt intex smps as 500 watt was much costly around 5 times
    the 400 watt
    i wanna know is it enough for my current config and 4 extra fans
     
  9. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A 400 watt PS is sufficient, but don't buy Intex.
    If you look at the post above yours, you'll see that a Zebronics 500W PS costs Rs. 1300. Get that instead.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    freakabhishek

    freakabhishek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    today i have been to nehru place but dint find any one keeping 500 watt smps
    and the one that have costs rs 2300 or more
    so at last i have bought an intex 400 watt for 380
     
  11. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    380??? You're kidding right? If your PS cost Rs. 380, then its fake.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    freakabhishek

    freakabhishek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont know about fake or real
    but every shopkeeper offered a smps fo 380 some for 390 and some for 400
    not anything more then that
     
  13. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Surprising, but it is true! Even in our town a Zebronics 400W costs less than Rs.400/. God alone knows how much power it will really supply. And the shopkeepers are ignorant about better PSUs. And they will ask why you need a higher rated or better ones.
     
  14. zuala77

    zuala77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi

    i dont know about those numbers but i should advise dont go for the wattage.....se carefully on the side or the top of the psu..u will find 12V rail amperage....dont go for 9A or 15A.....what u should want is to be at least 19A to 24A for mid level gaming....and if u see two instances of 12v rail then that means dual rail...it is one of the best for SLi....for SLi...it should be 35A .....i have notice that in techcomm and frontech....psu offering 400 to 450 watt...but when u see the 12V rail it is only 9A sometimes 12A...and if the 12V is high..the wattage cant be low
     
  15. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Re: hi

    You are correct about the importance of the ampereage, but do you think we can rely on what is written on the PSU, especially in case of the cheap brands?
     
  16. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    for any current gen pc ... atleast 20A across 12V straight is recommended ...
     
  17. Kerry King

    Kerry King New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought a GeForce 7600 GT CO. It requires a minimum of 350 watt power supply. what would be a good 400 watt power supply forthat is under 40$ and is celron compatible.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page