demon tools & SPTD problem

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by nishant_nms, Jun 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I am facing a proble with Deamon tools. I am using XP x64 edition and Daemon tools v4.03 for x64. Till yesterday it was working properly. But from today it asks for SPTD. I tried to uninstall it but i was not able to do so however, it was not in add/remove program. I am not able to install it again. I tried to install SPTD but was not able to do so. Now I am not abel to use Alcohol because it also uses SPTD. Plz help.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    somebody plz help yaar it is causing me huge trouble
     
  3. yrana2002

    yrana2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Black Pearl
    Here's what i got. Try these steps:

    1. Delete SPTD.SYS from the C:\Windows\System32\Drivers folder.

    2. Reboot(Do not omit this step)

    3. Delete SPTD9885.SYS or the driver with similar name from
    C:\Windows\System32\Drivers ( no.s exceeding SPTD in the file may differ. Delete any similar .sys file)

    4. Using Regedit, Go to
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\SPTD.

    5. Right-click the key and choose Permissions

    6. Change the rights for Adminitrator group to Full access.

    7. Now delete the SPTD key and also this key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_SPTD.

    Reboot and try to reinstall the Daemon Software directly.

    Savvy:!:
     
  4. OP
    OP
    nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Tried yrana process but it didn't worked. I must make few things clear that whenever I run the setup it tries to install SPTD an then asks to reboot then again it ask to installs. The problem is that SPTD doesn't gets installed. The file SPTD.SYS gets copied and the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\SPTD gets created. But it(SPTD) still not works. In system information(assesories menu) shows SPTD driver but as stoped.
     
  5. kvgopaly2k

    kvgopaly2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have you tried starting the service from there??? (Start-->Run-->services.msc)

    What message do you get??
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page