Dataone and Airtel Broadband - USB Slot Problem

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by techtronic, Jun 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. techtronic

    techtronic I Always Prefer 1080p

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i installed the bsnl broadband dataone connection in one of my friend's house. but whenever i use the connection, it disconnects within one hour.
    i personally checked the ip,dns and dhcp configuration. the username and password also are correctly entered.There is no ethernet card attached.
    The modem has usb configuration.

    The same problem is also occuring in another person's house who also has usb configuratuon who has airtel broadband using beetel modem.

    When contacted, the customer care people say that this may be due to pirated versions of windows XP. if this is true, then it ok , if its not
    then what might be the possible cause be for this disconnection ?
     
  2. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    i think there is setting in modem but i could not figure out clearly. but certainly its not the p****d xp
     
  3. amitgg

    amitgg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have suffered the same problem with beetel modem. I use airtel. The problem was rectified by changing modem from beetel to r.b. comtec.
     
  4. eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    Sometimes Frequent disconnection is caused due to Power Surge or some other type of distrubance in BSNL bfone line. As ADSL connection is very sensitive and a high electric surge can cause port blocking for safety at local BSNL exchange which results in disconnection in some cases it can cause total link faliture .So it seems ur frnds bfone line need to be checked by BSNL Broadband team so plz contact them if other solutions doesn't work.....................Pirated window can't be a culprit as mine shows nop lol
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2006
  5. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    Well i have heard of similar problems with people using usb port, try using ethernet if possible
     
  6. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    check for voltage supply in ur house. some adsl modems are senstive that much that a small up down leads to discountion.use a ups if nessary.
     
  7. mohit sharma

    mohit sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ghaziabad , India , Earth , Universe
    cyrux is right , try using ethernet , infact dsl installation team of airtel prefers ethernet link for installation and gives usb connection cable as a backup only . the reason according to them is that usb connection requires some special drivers and if any single file of tht driver file gets corrupted anyway then it will create problem .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page