Counsel for an SMPS

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by siriusb, Jul 6, 2006.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siriusb

    siriusb New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, India, Asia, the Earth, the Solar system,
    I run my system on an xtech 350Watt smps. Now I want to change my graphics card from 6600gt to 7900gt. This smps I have supplies only 12A on the 12V rail, it seems. The nvidia site asks me to get a 500-600W smps with 30A on the 12V rail, while a review site (anandtech or pcstats?) says 20A on the 12V rail is enough. So I guess any smps with either 20A or 30A should be ok.

    Now, I don't want to spend >8k for an smps, nor do I want to totally skimp on it. I heard zebronics smps is better than the other skanks. Are there any other less-dear-than-antec-but-still-better kind of smpses around?

    And, I guess that nvidia says 500-600W on an Antec-level smps. How does it translate to the other compaies we will be talking about?

    Also, according to my apc UPS, I use only about 214W at idle and about 260-280W on load. My ups has an upper limit of 300W (at least, that's how far the power progress bar extends). Probably, I will need a new UPS as well?
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2006
  2. Ch@0s

    Ch@0s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's a vantec ion2 460W with 30A on 12V and pci-e connectors.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    siriusb

    siriusb New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, India, Asia, the Earth, the Solar system,
    How much is that? My budget on smps is not defined yet. But it's approx 2k.
     
  4. 4000.Rs
     
  5. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    But he was asking for a good but cheaper PSU. Also, I think Antec SP 350 will cost (if locally available) much less than that. It has 25A on its two 12V rails.
    I think higher end models from Powersafe or Zebronics will be available for much less. But better give a margin of allowance for the claimed wattage and ampereage in such cases.
     
  6. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    yesterday i got another colorsit 450W SMPS for 1300 here in kolkata.

    I dont know what's the deal, but cheap colorsit SMPS' are also available in market, dunno if they are fake....

    but this is a great SMPS i must say, i am using it in 2 machines, and my machine literally has a high power consumption..... 2HDD's, 2 DVD drives, 9 fans, a graphics card, and a few USB devices, see my config in sig, and it's running smooth......

    ok, this one is a golden color SMPS with 2 fans inside it, it comes in a very nice box packing, just to keep you away from those cheap ones....
     
  7. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    @Kniwor
    which cabinet do u use (9 fans)? Pls tell me I am in search for a good cabby.
     
  8. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Zebronics is said to be relatively good, but when I enquired at a local shop, they had lots of 400W units for a price of Rs.400/- only. When inspected, it was feather weight. In short, what I understand is that there are lots of fakes.

    I personally use a Priya 400W PSU for my A64 3000, A8N-E et. The voltages are near perfect even on load. But it cost me Rs.1600/- 8 months back. It is very heavy compared to ordinary PSUs. (An easy criteria for good PSU)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    siriusb

    siriusb New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, India, Asia, the Earth, the Solar system,
    Colorsit looks like a good bet. But I don't know about its availablity here in chennai. 1.3K sounds like a good deal too, but what about higher models in colorsit?
     
  10. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Try to get the Antec 350W PSU if u can .... much better .. 25amps across 12V .. dual rail .. etc. etc.
     
  11. Ch@0s

    Ch@0s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Colorsit is a POS. IF you are spending 20K on a video card, better spend 3K on a psu unless you want it fried. You can get the vantec ion for as low as 3.2-3.3 at Apex in Lamington Road. Also let me warn you at the outset... 7900GT is a bugged card. Half of them are dying after a few days of continuous use, especially the overclocked out of the box ones.
     
  12. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yup ... thats the only reason i don't wanna risk my money on a 7900GT ... coz if it gets a bit too hot , then u'll have to RMA it for sure (stupid reference design).. ...
     
  13. bharathbala2003

    bharathbala2003 why need title?

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CONFUSED!! AM LOST
    well i got a 450W, 20 accross 10 zebaronics smps for 1100 with cabinet(2 side fans n 4 usb's)
     
  14. OP
    OP
    siriusb

    siriusb New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, India, Asia, the Earth, the Solar system,
    Yea, I've read about that on pc perspective and other forums. It's mostly OCed gtx than gt that seem to have the problem. But your warning is heard. Let me hope I am the majority that don't get a skanky card.

    I don't care about the brand of smps as long it has 20-30A on the 12V rail and can supply around 500W. Colosit seems too cheap now. That Vantec ion sounds better.
    BTW, anyone know of any 7900gt/gtx owners here? I just want to know how their xperience has been with the card (and their psu) as in our country.

    >I read in some forum that most of the antecs that says 15A or 18A on the 12V rail in their website spec chart, read 25 or 26A on the 12V rail in the side-sticker on the actual unit these days. So I think I need to check out the low rated antecs as well (though I don't know if the shop has antec units with it). Maybe recent owners of antec maybe able to answer this.

    Anywho, I have to wonder, how my 12A on the 12V smps survived my OCed 6600gt (supposedly requiring >17A on the 12V rail), 4 hdds, 1 DL DVD-RW, 3 case fans, and OCed 3200+ and a sound card 24/7... To sum up, do I really need a >500W smps with 20-30A on the 12V rail?
     
  15. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Get Cooler Master 450 or around 3800.
     
  16. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If u can then go with Antec...It is usually the best..With u r getting such a high-end card get a high end SMPS also!!
     
  17. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Antec is one of the best if not the best in India, but not globally.
    Antec 450 will be around 3800 as well I think, check specs of both.
     
  18. He asked how much it was. So i answered.
     
  19. Ch@0s

    Ch@0s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well in case of dual rail PSUs, you can't simply add the amps on both rails. its 10A+15A but if you look carefully, the max combined load on 12V is 210W which means a max sustained of 17.5A. Also all the Smart power and truepower psus are rated at 25 degrees. So in a country like india, the output you'll get is lower than what its rated for cos of higher temperatures. In the antec PSU range, only the NeoHE is rated at 50 degrees and hence can supply exactly what its rated at and at most times, maybe even more.
     
  20. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Further, in case of SP 350, the 12V1 ie10A, is meant for Mobo and peripherals while the 12V2 ie., 15A is for the processor. I think it should have been the other way around, since which common processor as of now will need 15A? Pl corrct me if I am wrong.

    BTW, are both rails supplied through the same 24 pin Mobo connector?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page