cost for a PC/laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

munim

hi guys.
i am a computer science student in PESIT bangalore and i am planning to get a laptop. i want atleast 1.7GHz, 40 GB, Win XP Pro(plus linux.. that would be cool or else i can always install myself), DVD/CDRW, 256 MB RAM and the rest of the usual stuff. i may get a laptop for WiFi but i am a bit unsure about the price.. also a desktop with a WiFi card would be nice but its not neccessary...
any of you guys have experience in buying a similar PC, please share it with me. i am new in india and i don't know the costs here. also anyone in bangalore,please tell me any good computer shop. thanks
munim
PS: Assembled is enough for me... i don't need branded.

---- EDITED-----
ok guys, i am also willing to get an AMD processor as long as it can run macromedia software and a few games... i don't want very good performance for games... i am not a game freak. a thought.. linux will work fine on an AMD right?

IG

Journeyman
me piggybacking on this query...here goes :p
what abt for 30-40k?
but only for a laptop....any known brands that offer the same?

blade_runner

Cyborg Agent
U might get Aci laptops powered by the Via nehemiah processor @ that price point. Better hunt for assembled ones but battery life is wot one shud b careful in assembled ones.

blade_runner

Cyborg Agent
Umm i have used the lappy which used a Via processor @ 1Ghz and i must say its not 2 bad @ the price range of 30-35k. But u better be off with a good proccy.

manmay

Journeyman
i got my laptop compaq presario 2514 celeron 2.8 GHZ 30 gb hd cd rom wi fi usb2 15 in display 128 mb ram (ddr), ATi radeon 16 mb IGP 345M grafix, has 56kmodem, floppy drive infra red port lan card and battery backup of 3 hrs os quoted but i get 2 hrs.
i got it for 43k .i 'll say u can go for it its worth the money and fits your budget !!!!!