Core 2 Duo vs Pentium 4 [question]

Status
Not open for further replies.

MacGyver

Right off the assembly line
I am a total noob when it comes to hardware, and I just want to get this cleared up. The difference between Core2Duo and P4...

Which is faster, a P4 3.0ghz -or- a 1.66ghz Core2Duo processor?

Which one should I choose for a gaming? I want to play elder scrolls 4 oblivion...the minimum system requirements in terms of processors are 2.0ghzs P4 for that. Would a 1.66 C2D be good enough?

Thanks!

adithyagenius

I WANT MORE FPS!!
You can get 2.0ghz core 2 duo for less than 5.5k. Core 2 duo is faster because of its architechture and the fact that its a dual core processor. Pentium 4 is a single core processor and is slow, which is the reason why its so cheap. Actually it could be cheaper, but its out of mainstream production and hence the supply is down.

QwertyManiac

Commander in Chief
Let them fight!

[Processor comparison] between E4300 C2D and Pentium 4 530. The difference is more than half! (See the RED highlighted bars, and also see the performances for other modules available there)

And when it comes to applications, processor clock speeds don't matter. So even if you have a 1.5 GHz P4 and the game demands 2.0 GHz on the box, it'll run fine provided you got adequate GPU and RAM.

As some people say, basically 1.66 GHz C2D = 1.66 x 2 Cores = 3.32 GHz total > 3.0 GHz P4. Not logical enough but this sells C2Ds for Intel.

OP
M

MacGyver

Right off the assembly line
QwertyManiac said:
Let them fight!

[Processor comparison] between E4300 C2D and Pentium 4 530. The difference is more than half! (See the RED highlighted bars, and also see the performances for other modules available there)

And when it comes to applications, processor clock speeds don't matter. So even if you have a 1.5 GHz P4 and the game demands 2.0 GHz on the box, it'll run fine provided you got adequate GPU and RAM.