Cool 'n quiet query

Status
Not open for further replies.

abhijit_reddevil

Manchester United
Hi,

I am facing a weird problem (actually I do not know whether this is classified as a problem). Please see the signature for my complete machine specifications. The fan of my 3000+ CPU is making considerable amount of noise after about an hour of usage. I have overclocked my CPU from 1.8Ghz to 2.25Ghz. I have been using this o/c'ed system for the past 2-3 months without any problem. I have double checked my system and confirmed that the noise is indeed coming from the CPU fan and not from my graphics card.

Is there any way that I can reduce the fan noise? Enabling cool and queit may be an option but I am not so sure. I had to disable it in order to run my overclocking experiment successfully. Enabling it and restarting always resets to the default system specs. It may also be that the fan has become defective and may need to be replaced but that too I am not too sure. Moreover since I o/ced my system and also updated the Asus BIOS to latest (ver 1011), I may have lost warranty coverage.

Please help!

janitha

Wise Old Owl
digitized said:
Hi,

I am facing a weird problem (actually I do not know whether this is classified as a problem). Please see the signature for my complete machine specifications. The fan of my 3000+ CPU is making considerable amount of noise after about an hour of usage. I have overclocked my CPU from 1.8Ghz to 2.25Ghz. I have been using this o/c'ed system for the past 2-3 months without any problem. I have double checked my system and confirmed that the noise is indeed coming from the CPU fan and not from my graphics card.