Cool 'n' Quiet driver install problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

phreak0ut

The Thread Killer >:)
I have FC5(64-bit) installed on my system on my system(please system specs on my signature). I want to install the Cool 'n' Quiet driver for my OS as it tends to heat up if I leave it running for a long time. This doesn't happen on Windows. I don't know if this because of the driver which I have installed or plainly Windows taking care of itself. I downloaded certain file(s) from the AMD site, but I cannot figure out what to do as I am a total noob to Linux. I have posted the readme of the downloaded file(s). Please let me know what to do.

This tar file contains the Linux CPU frequency driver
for AMD Athlon64 / Opteron processors.

The driver obtains data as to supported frequencies
and voltages for the processor from the BIOS.

Version 1.00.xx of the driver uses a BIOS table called
the PSB, which is not supported by all BIOSs. Included
driver versions are:
1.00.09 - versions of the driver for both 2.4 and 2.6
kernels. The driver is dependent on the
cpufreq driver, which is available as a patch
for 2.4 kernels, and is built into 2.6 kernels.
1.00.12 - the latest version of the driver, for 2.6
only, that includes sample code to hardcode a
PSB table to bypass BIOSs that do not offer
the support.

Version 1.39.xx of the driver can use either the
PSB table or ACPI objects, dependent on whether
the kernel is configured to include ACPI support or
not. The driver version included is 1.39.04, for
the 2.6 kernel only. This driver supports SMP
frequency management and dual-core processors. It
will not load on an SMP or dual-core system unless
the ACPI objects are available. It will work on
all 2.6 kernels, but the 1.50.03 driver (below)
is preferred for kernels 2.6.10 and later.

Version 1.50.xx of the driver can use either the
PSB table of the ACPI objects. It supports Opteron,
Athlon 64 processors, in both single and dual core