Connecting 2 Computers..

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by dreams, Nov 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dreams

    dreams Gracias Senor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Heven & Hell
    Hi all..

    I am out of basics now..so pls bear if this qn is very simple..

    Here comes the issue..

    I am havin a Laptop runnin XP SP2 and a Desktop XP SP2..
    I need to access both these computers..

    both the computers hv a NIC and hv connected it usin a ethernet cable..

    now hw to go wit the steps..

    TIA
     
  2. jack// ani

    jack// ani New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    crossover ethernet cable, plus proper configuration of windows....its done!!

    i can't type the whole lot in details, search around you will find step-by-step in details....no big deal.

    good luck
     
  3. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    go to nearest Computer Hardware store... by a 3-5m long (according to ur need, but dont streatch it to long) CAT 5 cable crossed puched with 2 RJ 45 Jack...

    Now the configuration part... :)

    Connect both PC using that cable...

    Now go to Computer 1, in the network connection, Right click on the LAN Connection ICON and chose properties...

    [​IMG]

    Now Set following value for the Manuall Selection of the IP address...

    IP Address : 192.168.0.1
    Subnet : 255.255.255.0
    Getway : 192.168.0.1

    Now Do the same in Computer 2, but change the IP addres,

    IP Address : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet : 255.255.255.0
    Getway : 192.168.0.1

    Now in both PC turn on the file and printer shareing...

    Next Go to My Computer of Both PC... Right Click on every Drive and click shareing and security...

    [​IMG]

    Now Click Share this folder on Network and Allow others to change the Files

    Click apply... now u should be able to access all files from both Computer...

    P.S. Dont forget to make an exeption rule for File and Printer shareing in ur File wall or u may turn it off... :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2006
    hemant_mathur and it_waaznt_me like this.
  4. OP
    OP
    dreams

    dreams Gracias Senor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Heven & Hell
    Thnx m8..this is awesome..kudos to all..
     
  5. uchiha.sasuke

    uchiha.sasuke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi guys ....i have a doubt regarding ethernet cable connection....Is cable is same in case of connecting a laptop with a desktop....than in a case of connecting desktop to desktop...and connection is same on side or wat??????
     
  6. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    well Cable is same in every Case... its CAT 5 cable with Rj 45 Jack...

    the trick is in the puching the cable in that RJ 45 Jack... There are 2 types of technique...

    1. Connecting a PC / LAPTOP with HUB / Switch (i guess its called simple punching)
    2. Connecting 2 PC / LAPTOP.. (i think its called crosssed punching)
     
  7. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    Is it possible to connect just 2 pc's using wifi without using an access point ?
     
  8. ashu_dps

    ashu_dps Hell Sucks!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Yes hemant its possible.
    First u need to set up a wi-fi network using ur wi-fi configuration tool(Either windows zero config or ur Company provided e.g Brodcomm) and then select the network as Ad-hoc(As between 2 comps w/o an access point) nw set this network parameters e.g security, encryption etc as u like n then go to other comp and search for network n connect to it.
    Thats all nw u too r on a wireless network, nw do ur sharing as u wud do on a wired network n u can even share a internet connection nw very easily :)
     
    hemant_mathur likes this.
  9. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    Thanx for the reply.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page