1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Computer Upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by pickster, Mar 5, 2006.

?

Gaming Processor... Intel or AMD

  1. Intel

    100.0%
  2. AMD

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pickster

    pickster Professional Layabout.

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I wanna upgrade my PC... As of now, it is rubbish but it was good when I bought it...
    Pentium 4 1.79 GHz
    512 SD RAM
    MoBo - Intel D845GLLY
    I want to go for basically gaming PC that will run new games for quiet sometime.. Budget : 15K
    Graphics Card excluded
    Also suggest some good GFX card around 5-7K
    Processor can be AMD -or- Intel
    DDR2 RAM
    PCI-e Slot
     
  2. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD as of now doesnotsupport DDR2

    but as far as gamin is concerned there is no match for it

    so my suggestion,

    AMD athlon64 3000+ - 5.5k
    ASUS a8n-e - 5.5k
    1 gb DDR RAM - 4.2k

    and for the GFX card, if u can stretch ur budget a notch above 7k, nothing like the nvidia 6600gt 128 mb from BIG, comes for some 7.5k

    if not a non gt will suffice
     
  3. OP
    OP
    pickster

    pickster Professional Layabout.

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Really? Any news when it will support it? Is this the case in countries like US & UK also?
    Is there any site where I can buy the MoBo, GFx Card, Processor & that it can deliever it in Varanasi, India.
    Another aspect is that I can wait but I would like a PC that will support Vista..
     
  4. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Though AMD will perform better for gaming, if u want things for a long run---get a 3.0Ghz+ intel processor and a nice Asus motherboard with nforce4 chipset. Intel complies with DDR2 as well......
    Another imp. aspect is the gfx card. Get onboard graphics if u r not willing to spend much....but the real performance for the long run starts from the 6600 gt\ X850

    http://www.intel.com/products/processor/pentium4HTXE/index.htm
     
  5. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    May i know the reason why Intel would be better in the long run ?
    Whats so special about DDR2 ?
    DDR2 doesnt make sense below DDR2800 speeds cos of the horrific latencies.

    Anyways currently AMD 64 CPUs with onchip memory controller is eating P4 with DDR2 for breakfast..lol :lol:
     
  6. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i config i suggested is more than enough for VISTA dude

    buyin stuff online is costly
    if u wanna try check at ebay
     
  7. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    MY VOTE GOES FOR INTEL
     
  8. OP
    OP
    pickster

    pickster Professional Layabout.

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    amazon.com

    Can't I order the goods from www.amazon.com ?
    I think it is a good site...
     
  9. abhijit_reddevil

    abhijit_reddevil Manchester United

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    www.amazon.com does not ship to India, especially computer components. There are some category of items which they ship but computer parts is a no-no for them, simply because of the custom hassles here. Go through their help page for exact listing. If ordering from foreign websites were allowed, then I myself would have ordered all my PC parts from www.newegg.com.

    By the way, you were thinking of online shopping, I hope you have a credit card.
     
  10. thetopcyborg

    thetopcyborg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then vote dummy! No offence


    why are you posting if there's a poll???
     
  11. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    I said that coz the AMD processor models r currently evolving, and at a very rapid pace. I voted for AMD as the better processor,but for the long run (say 4 yrs), AMD will change a lot whereas Intel wont change that much( its kinda more saturated thing now)
    I heard about the socket AM2 (as u said), the evolving dualcore speeds, support for DDr2 soon......so in a year or 2, AMD will be what should make 1 processor go for a couple of yrs ;)
    Thats my opinion.....coz i suffered the same thing when i bought P3 computer and soon p4 came out and :((
     
  12. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    One question, shouldn't gettign a 64bit cpu should be a major concern considering that future games will really make use of 64bit. I mean wouldn't getting a 32bit cpu be a big mistake in 2005?

    Try ebay.in
     
  13. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Get the best MB available---it will make sure u have the option to upgrade ur PC at a later date.
     
  14. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    there is a mobo from asrock it supports 939 pin AMD as of now.. but u can add a special card on it and use AM2 procies too. just in case..
    939sata2-dual
     
  15. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page