Computer Upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by pickster, Mar 5, 2006.

?

Gaming Processor... Intel or AMD

  1. Intel

    100.0%
  2. AMD

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pickster

    pickster Professional Layabout.

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I wanna upgrade my PC... As of now, it is rubbish but it was good when I bought it...
    Pentium 4 1.79 GHz
    512 SD RAM
    MoBo - Intel D845GLLY
    I want to go for basically gaming PC that will run new games for quiet sometime.. Budget : 15K
    Graphics Card excluded
    Also suggest some good GFX card around 5-7K
    Processor can be AMD -or- Intel
    DDR2 RAM
    PCI-e Slot
     
  2. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD as of now doesnotsupport DDR2

    but as far as gamin is concerned there is no match for it

    so my suggestion,

    AMD athlon64 3000+ - 5.5k
    ASUS a8n-e - 5.5k
    1 gb DDR RAM - 4.2k

    and for the GFX card, if u can stretch ur budget a notch above 7k, nothing like the nvidia 6600gt 128 mb from BIG, comes for some 7.5k

    if not a non gt will suffice
     
  3. OP
    OP
    pickster

    pickster Professional Layabout.

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Really? Any news when it will support it? Is this the case in countries like US & UK also?
    Is there any site where I can buy the MoBo, GFx Card, Processor & that it can deliever it in Varanasi, India.
    Another aspect is that I can wait but I would like a PC that will support Vista..
     
  4. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Though AMD will perform better for gaming, if u want things for a long run---get a 3.0Ghz+ intel processor and a nice Asus motherboard with nforce4 chipset. Intel complies with DDR2 as well......
    Another imp. aspect is the gfx card. Get onboard graphics if u r not willing to spend much....but the real performance for the long run starts from the 6600 gt\ X850

    http://www.intel.com/products/processor/pentium4HTXE/index.htm
     
  5. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    May i know the reason why Intel would be better in the long run ?
    Whats so special about DDR2 ?
    DDR2 doesnt make sense below DDR2800 speeds cos of the horrific latencies.

    Anyways currently AMD 64 CPUs with onchip memory controller is eating P4 with DDR2 for breakfast..lol :lol:
     
  6. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i config i suggested is more than enough for VISTA dude

    buyin stuff online is costly
    if u wanna try check at ebay
     
  7. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    MY VOTE GOES FOR INTEL
     
  8. OP
    OP
    pickster

    pickster Professional Layabout.

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    amazon.com

    Can't I order the goods from www.amazon.com ?
    I think it is a good site...
     
  9. abhijit_reddevil

    abhijit_reddevil Manchester United

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    www.amazon.com does not ship to India, especially computer components. There are some category of items which they ship but computer parts is a no-no for them, simply because of the custom hassles here. Go through their help page for exact listing. If ordering from foreign websites were allowed, then I myself would have ordered all my PC parts from www.newegg.com.

    By the way, you were thinking of online shopping, I hope you have a credit card.
     
  10. thetopcyborg

    thetopcyborg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then vote dummy! No offence


    why are you posting if there's a poll???
     
  11. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    I said that coz the AMD processor models r currently evolving, and at a very rapid pace. I voted for AMD as the better processor,but for the long run (say 4 yrs), AMD will change a lot whereas Intel wont change that much( its kinda more saturated thing now)
    I heard about the socket AM2 (as u said), the evolving dualcore speeds, support for DDr2 soon......so in a year or 2, AMD will be what should make 1 processor go for a couple of yrs ;)
    Thats my opinion.....coz i suffered the same thing when i bought P3 computer and soon p4 came out and :((
     
  12. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    One question, shouldn't gettign a 64bit cpu should be a major concern considering that future games will really make use of 64bit. I mean wouldn't getting a 32bit cpu be a big mistake in 2005?

    Try ebay.in
     
  13. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Get the best MB available---it will make sure u have the option to upgrade ur PC at a later date.
     
  14. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    there is a mobo from asrock it supports 939 pin AMD as of now.. but u can add a special card on it and use AM2 procies too. just in case..
    939sata2-dual
     
  15. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page