1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Computer restarting...:(

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by nilesh4u, Mar 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nilesh4u

    nilesh4u New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guys ... Please help me out of this.

    My PC is getting restarted every 5 minutes .. without giving any error message or so.
    Dont know whats the problem..I reinstalled Windows XP many times.

    Its giving no message nd restarting .. atleast i shud know what the prob . is .

    take me out of this phase frnds!
     
  2. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    First disable the Automatic System restart!
    Right-click on My Computer and select Properties, then click on Advanced tab and click on Settings button under Startup & Recovery section. Here uncheck the checkbox saying Automatically Restart.

    Now u should be able to see BSOD (Blue Screen of death) and the system will not restart automatically! Don't forget to post the error message that u receive in BSOD.

    Seems some hardware conflict...
     
  3. OP
    OP
    nilesh4u

    nilesh4u New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did that long back,but still getting restart.

    Sometimes that blue screen flashes (rarely). All the time it gets restart without showing anything..
    In BSOD .. its telling to check following things
    1.Adequate Space . I have 20 GB free spae . (80 GB HD).
    2.Drivers.. for latest updates.

    ..

    Any hardware problem ???
     
  4. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    Check your ram with memtest86 for errors and do check ur system by getting a different psu .. looks like a psu problem to me.
     
  5. mako_123

    mako_123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sometimes some drivers may also cause problems like this . Have you updated any drivers recently .
     
  6. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    what r u doing when system restarts listen dude

    only three things

    either motherboard or ram or the ide cable are the suspects check them
     
  7. OP
    OP
    nilesh4u

    nilesh4u New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whats this ram test and psu mohit ? could u explain ?
    I updated my drivers recently from the intel ka site.
    How do i check motherboard and RAM? any software
    help me ... i am new to this.

    and b/w.. i got a new RAM 256 added to previos 256 !
    is it coz of conflict kinda stuff between two RAM's ???
     
  8. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    hmm ok .. do this.

    goto www.memtest86.com and download memtest86 bootable iso from there. burn it to a cd and boot ur computer with it and let it run the memory test atleast for 4-5 hours. if it does not show any errors in this time then your memory is fine.. and if you get errors then plain n simple .. its a memory problem.

    psu = power supply unit = smps.

    if ur memory passes without any errors then try replacing your psu with a better one and see if your system works without crashing.
     
  9. naveenchandran

    naveenchandran New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ** Hosur ** Operating System:GNU
    @nilesh4u

    Check your power supply has Earthing been done properly?
     
  10. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    i also think that ither is a snag in SMPS.
     
  11. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    there u are!!!!!!!! dude the problem is only with ur ram u have added a wrong speed ram to ur system i an definitely sure that ur ram is the culprit
     
  12. OP
    OP
    nilesh4u

    nilesh4u New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Regarding the RAM . me will consult the shopkeeper from where i bought.
    I noticed a error message when the BSOD screen appears
    " DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL"

    .Does using 98 or using some other OS other than XP solve the problem ???
     
  13. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    Rightly said, might be an earthing problem
     
  14. Jatin_T

    Jatin_T New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Behind u with a knife-hehe-Mumbai!!
    For the Driver IRQL error..it had been discussed long back in digit..let me search..cant find any thread..maybe it got deleted!

    By the way..i think ur RAM is faulty..did u just install a new RAM?
    Check this out>>
    http://www.jsifaq.com/SUBM/tip6000/rh6045.htm

    U might confirm this by checking wid a frnds RAM or removing the ram if u got 2 or more RAm sticks...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page