Computer powers on but doesn't work.

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by bsb, Mar 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bsb

    bsb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have assembled my PC about one and half year back. It is AMD Athlon Based Computer with A7n8X Dlx motherboard, 512 MB Ram, Two dists (One SATA 80 GB one IDE 8 GB), running on XP.

    For Past few days, I am facing this problem

    On switchin on the computer, it powers on, i.e., indicator lights are on, the fan moves but there is no effect on any of the peripheral, i.e, key board, mouse, monitor...so basically nothing happens.

    It appears as if BIOS itself is not loading.

    I was facing this problem for last two months but for many days, everything used to work if i kept the PC box switched on for 10-15 minutes and re-switched again. But for last 15 days, nothing happens simply.

    Can anybody explain to me ..whats going on and what should I do now.

    Regards,

    B S Bora

    PS: I have already changed the mothrboard battery. No improvement.
     
  2. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    Chk out with cabale's.......
     
  3. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Maybe SMPS. I had similar problem. My 300W SMPS had problem which I detected after many hassles. I strongly suggest you get it checked.
     
  4. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    check if the monitor is working fine or not..
    remove the monitor cable frm the back of the CPU and see if any display comes on ..

    remove RAM modules and re-insert them...

    if re-seating of RAM doesn't work start by removing devices one-by-one..remove all the PCI devices like mode,LAN card etc...restart and check..

    i think i was having the same problem with my first PC...HP Pavilion... but i dont think i did anything for this issue..went away on its own!

    PS>>>Do u use UPS ??
     
  5. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    the problem lies either with ur SMPS or ur motherbaord

    ur not getting any beeps at startup are u ?

    check the smps first else ull need to replace r mobo afaik
     
  6. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala

    Yes, how many beeps you are getting on start up? Make sure that everything is properly inserted. Also try cleaning the contats of rams by using an eraser (ordinary pencil eraser).

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  7. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    cleaning with pencil eraser???
    never heard of it...and havnt tried it...
    good trick if it works... :))
     
  8. mahender

    mahender New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check the battery also, just remove and re insert it
     
  9. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    sir ram is not properly seated or the ram is gone
     
  10. OP
    OP
    bsb

    bsb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks to everyone who responded,

    Problem resolved.

    SMPS is OK. Re-inserting Battery and RAM solved the problem.

    Thanks again

    bsb
     
  11. The Incredible

    The Incredible New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Incredible
    i know that the problem is solved but i have a query. the guy said that if he kept his pc on for 10 to 15 min then it works. is similar to a car whose battery is down. after accelerating for a few min, the battery get recharged a little bit. so was it d prob cos if it was then this mns dat his batt is low and he need get a new one.

    but if the batt is down for how long his pc keeps on working and why?

    and yeh if ram is the prob then can sum1 tell how can it b da prob


    although his prob is solved but who was d culprit???
     
  12. hsksattish

    hsksattish New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tamil Nadu
    I had a similar problem. I just removed the cpu and cleaned the slot thoroughly. It worked. Maybe after somtime the fan blew away some of the dust and the motherboard started working!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page