compiling the kernel in fc5

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by romeo_8693, Jan 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    well the pic is al selfexplainatory....pls help!
     
  2. subratabera

    subratabera Just another linux lover.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, KA
    Try...

    "su -" including that dash

    instead of...

    "su" without dash
     
  3. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    d problem is with "menuconfig"!any ways wat wud the above thing change?
     
  4. subratabera

    subratabera Just another linux lover.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, KA
    That will give you full root environment...
     
  5. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    ok.ill c.
     
  6. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    You should be in /usr/src/linux directory.
    And also you can use xconfig
    Code:
    make xconfig
    It will give you a GUI environment.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    hey techie the first thing u told me doesnt work.strange it might seem,i dnt have the above /src/linux directory...ill try the 2nd one though!!
    p.s. do i have to update my installation?its a bare-bone fc5!!!
     
  8. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Give me the output of
    Code:
    ls /usr/src
    __________
    Did you download kernel sources or a vanilla kernel to compile?
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2007
  9. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    You don't have Linux sources installed. None of the RPM distros install them by-default (afaik?).
     
  10. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    None of the binary distros do AFAIK. Ubuntu, FC, Mandriva and Suse doesn't as long as I remember.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    so wat do i do to make a custom kernel?
     
  12. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    install linux-sources or kernel-sources whatever it is called from your package manager, for the version of the kernel you are using.
    Or otherwise if you want a totally new kernel. Get a fresh one from www.kernel.org
    What exactly do you want to compile a kernel for?
     
  13. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
  14. subratabera

    subratabera Just another linux lover.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, KA
  15. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    well i did get 5cd's for fc5!dnt they have sources?if yes then re-installing will solve the prob?
     
  16. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Reinstalling will not solve the problem as none of the binary distros install Kernel sources by default. If you have all the 5 CDs then 4th and 5th CDs most probably will be having the sources. Look for linux-kernel-xxxxx.src.rpm on one of the two CDs. Here xxxxx means version number of the kernel that came with your distro. Locate the file and then double click it...your distros package manager will take over and install the sources for you.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    romeo_8693

    romeo_8693 "The RaCaLaNGeL"©

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa/Pune
    thnx guys....ill try that eddie!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page