Cmos Virus

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Tom Thomas, Jul 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tom Thomas

    Tom Thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kalyan [ Mumbai ]
    Fool !! ................Just to grab Attention to my Problem................ Well, for past 1 month every time i boot up the first thing that comes says
    CMOS Settings Wrong....... Press F1 to RUN Setup OR
    Press F2 to load default values ......something of that sort......

    Hope u all get the picture..........Sometimes i press F2 but usually i do F1. In BIOS the TIME & DATE is incorrect(default value, i guess). Then the Hard Disk value shows nothing untill i Select Primary Master and Press Enter Key.

    One day i got fed up doing this routine work and i changed the CMOS Battery.

    The PC was working fine for 2-3 days..........Again the same problem started............ HELP ME PLEASE


    American MegaTrends AMIBIOS.......MERCURY MotherBoard........845 chipset.......P4.........128 DDR RAM
     
  2. ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    It was not funny at all......Not an Ideal way to grab atention to ppl (it might land u in trouble)..

    Neways, for ur problem, Its better to set the values to the exact parameters, it just takes sum cliks on ur keybrd to get the settings rigth, coz u will face this problem mainly due to the incorrect parameters.If u cant set the values urself, get a person (from the nearby cyber cafe) and ask him to do tat for u.

    Because, sum drivers (mostly of AGP cards) render useless if the Date (preferably the Year in the BIOS) is set to a wrong date like eg: 2032 etc.

    EDIT: these was no use of changing the CMOS battery...
     
  3. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
  4. OP
    OP
    Tom Thomas

    Tom Thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kalyan [ Mumbai ]
    hey, but u never solved my problem.........why is it behaving this way ?

    I need it to be normal like others have without doing that tat-tat on keyboard.

    Give me a solution guys.......i'm looking for that......Well, thnks for replying.
     
  5. priyadarshi

    priyadarshi Guest


    any solution ashu888ashu888??
     
  6. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Try removing all pci/agp cards and then start the comp
     
  7. Venom

    Venom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. neyo

    neyo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well the bios setup values may be wrong which is preventing from booting. the best bet is to set the jumper position on mobo to clear cmos settings. later u can switch it back. refer to ur mobo manual as to how to do this.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page