CMOS CHECKSUM ERROR

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by tirthasanyal, Aug 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tirthasanyal

    tirthasanyal New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Siliguri
    I have been using my system for last 4 years. It is a Celeron 633 on 810 motherboard with 192MB RAM. Last one week i noticed my computer clock going slow, after two or three days I got the message "CMOS Checksum Error Defaults Loaded" Press any key to continue.
    I changed the M/B Battery, but the problem persisted, then i tried to to clear the CMOS memory by shorting the Pins, that did not help either.
    I now seek HELP.
    Incidentally i visited the web and found that my processor might have been damaged. Is it true?
     
  2. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    i screwed my celeron 800 the same way a coupla years back . its wise to call up ur friendly neighbourhood spiderman !! ooops technician !!
     
  3. Kl@w-24

    Kl@w-24 Slideshow Bob

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I feel sorry to inform u that your motherboard battery has passed away. Kindly relieve it of this material world through a dump-inthe-dustbin funeral and begin a new life by getting a new motherboard bettery. My condolences are with u. ;)
     
  4. lywyre

    lywyre Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chennai/Vellore, TN
    Check that you enter into the BIOS Setup and save the settings.

    I hope this works.
     
  5. Kannan

    Kannan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, Tamil Nadu
    After changing the setting and with a new battery, restart the machine and check if the setting are saved. If yes and still your computer's clock is running wild then it means your motherboard's Crystal has gone nuts !!!.

    Take it to the hardware technician.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    tirthasanyal

    tirthasanyal New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Siliguri
    i said i had changed M/B battery, also tried to clear the CMOS and then by entering BIOS changed the settings. but those actions did not helped.
     
  7. busyanuj

    busyanuj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    then take the motherboard to the technician.
     
  8. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    yep m8 i think ur mother board gonna expire soon :cry: :cry: if u don't take it to the technician!!!
    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page