Cleaning the registry

Status
Not open for further replies.

bizzare_blue

Journeyman
I have been using Registry Mechanic for quite some time now n find it pretty useful...The other day I read an article about Reg Cleaner in 'DIGIT'. I wanted to know if Reg Cleaner is better than (or atleast equivalent to) Registry Mechanic....Reg Cleaner is free so its definitely a gud choice but wanted to know if it gives same sort of performence or not....

royal

Padawan
I have been using both for over 4 years now... 8)

Registry Mechanic is good , but believe me... RegCleaner is one of the best :p

anandk

Distinguished Member
registry mechanic is good but real slow.
better options are winaso registry optimizer, ace utilities or tune-up utilities.

go4saket

Registry Mechanic sucks for two reasons, first it is damn slow and second that it gives false errors. Try cleaning the registry with RM and then restart your computer. Now clean again with RM. You will see that many errors are found again. How is it possible that so many errors came again.

I am presently using Tuneup Utilities 2006 and it rocks for me...

S

saiaspire

I use Absolute Uninstaller. It provides tool for Disk as well as Registry Clean-up and is really fast.

readermaniax

Ambassador of Buzz
Registry Mechanic
Ease of Use:
Registry Mechanic will automatically scan (using either a deep or a quick scan) at startup if you choose, then you can select some or all the registry errors found during the scans for repair using checkboxes.

We found Registry Mechanics to be simple for novices yet customizable for professionals. The program navigation is beautifully designed and intuitive, and Registry Mechanics offers conveniences—such as a resizable dialogue screen.

Feature Set:
Registry Mechanic 5.0 scans faster and detects more registry errors than the 4.0 version. You can automatically scan the registry for errors, scan sections of your hard drive, and even scan the Windows add/remove list for errors.