Cheapest card for Vista

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by nishant_nms, Sep 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I want to know which cheapest Graphics card model from both ATI and nvidia which will support Vista Aero. Also quote it's price. And suggest for both AGP and PCIe
     
  2. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    the cheapest would be the FX5200 ... but i'd suggest u to invest for a 6200 ..
     
  3. go_gamez

    go_gamez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    navi mumbai
    U Can Buy...a 6200 For Less Than 3000 Bucks...and A 6600 Non-gt..for 3600..i Think..this ..two Will Do..
     
  4. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fx5200 is the last card to support Vista.....and its only in the AGP....6200 seems to be enough....its in both PCIe and AGP.....

    6600LE or 6600 is better than 6200 ....but really if u r not into gaming then a 6200 (64bit) (try 128bit) should be more than enough......
     
  5. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    Fx5200 is the last card to support vista, but i would advice u 2 go 4 a 6200 or a 6600
     
  6. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    U will need at least a 7300 to enjoy vista's eye candies. But an FX thing would do if u just wanna use Vista.
    Heard that vista makes use of dual cores greately. nd also upcoming games like UT07 nd Crysis.
     
  7. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    A 32 bit SM2.0 supporting card will be enough to run Aero .. i.e. will handle Vista with all the visuals ....
     
  8. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    ^^will a FX5200 do fine??
     
  9. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    FX5200 is old card not sure that it supports some capabilities of vista.
     
  10. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    FX5200 will do eekam ok ... just for the OS i.e. if u want Aero , and want it cheap
     
  11. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will there be any diff. in aero with FX5200 or a 6200 and a 6600.........not 'bout the gaming....
     
  12. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    On gf7 series only its given as 'Vista Ready' nd only seen in that series. Whys it so? Even GF6 doesn't seems to have it. If u can run aero on even a 5200 then whats the need for a 7 series?[ nd the word Vista ready]?
     
  13. aquamatrix

    aquamatrix New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pune
    get a 7300 GT
     
  14. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might as well get the 6200 over the 5200 considering there's practically no price difference between the two.
     
  15. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Only the later 7 series i.e namely 7800GT and beyond are said to be truly Vista ready as they have HD hardware support .. which is missing for the other cards ..

    But as long as u keep the HD part out ... any SM2.0 compliant card is said to be vista ready .. starting from a FX5200 ..

    Now for Vista , as its actually utilising the card , the UI effects will actually be better on the 6200 than the FX5200 , as the former has better dx9.0c support ..
     
  16. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    As far as I know both 7300 nd a 7800 has same features nd nothin more in a 7800. Its only bout perfomance.
     
  17. deepgeek2

    deepgeek2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in .Net
    CAN anyone tell me which PCI(not PCIe) based Graphic cards supports VISTA(if any). Please tell the price of cheapest one. I just need it for aero.
     
  18. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    ^^the pci version of FX5200........
     
  19. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Heard somewhere that ATI is releasing its top line x1300 256mb in a PCI version. It si the visiontek brand thats makin this card.
    source:
    http://www.ntcompatible.com/VisionT...300_256MB_PCI_First_ATI_based_PCI_s71921.html

    but it will be almost impossible to find the product in India, so get some 5200.
    __________
    nvidia has released the cheapes 7 series card for them who just want all the visuals of Vista with the most affordable price nd its SLI ready too:
    The all new GF 7100 GS
    http://www.nvidia.co.in/page/pg_20060905500750.html
    it hasn't got HDR support. nd the mem interface is 64 bit. Butnits a SM3 nd has DDR2.
    But it will be of no use for gamin as it would perfomance if not better tha a 6200TC.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2006
  20. deepgeek2

    deepgeek2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in .Net
    @arvind & stalker: Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page