Change your PC to morning alarm

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by SE><IE, Dec 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SE><IE

    SE><IE Guest

    Now this is specially for the ones who are too lazy to get up even when the trust cellphone dies screeching its lungs out.
    Its pretty simple :D

    Creating the playlist
    create a playlist of your favourite songs in Winamp, WMP or any other player. Export the playlist as a M3U playlist. M3U is generally accepted by almost every player.

    Triggering the alarm
    point to start> programs >accessories > system tools >scheduled tasks
    Create a new task and choose program as windows media player or winamp (May work with others too but I haven't tried anything else)
    Choose "daily", Enter the time and choose "every day" at next screen.
    It would now ask for password (leave blank in case you don't have one)
    Right click on the newly created task and check the "run only if logged in" check box. In the properties. Append the path to the playlist you created in the "run" text box. It should now look like
    Code:
    "D:\windows media player\wmplayer.exe" K:\Playlists\smoothies.m3u
    the text inside quotes is my WMP's path. It may vary for you. The text after WMP's path is the one to the playlist.
    Click OK and you're done.

    Go sleep! :D
     
    Third Eye likes this.
  2. n2casey

    n2casey Super Hero - Super Powers

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dynamic
    Thx for tute friend, but I need to shut down my PC everyday so.....
    Anyway, good for those who don't need to shutdown...
     
  3. OP
    OP
    SE><IE

    SE><IE Guest

    There are many who keep their respective PCs ON. you can shutdown the PC (not from UPS though) and check the "wake computer to start this task" kinda checkbox. I'm not sure of the working though. May require wake on call support by mobo :D
     
  4. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    nice trick buddy ;)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    SE><IE

    SE><IE Guest

    I was sick of the 'tarr tarr' of my phone and found the volume to less for my dino skin ears. Now I have scheduled WMP to play songs at full volume. :D
     
  6. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    Nice one:p
     
  7. NucleusKore

    NucleusKore TheSaint

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Antigua
    Nice one, but that's one power hungry alarm clock.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    SE><IE

    SE><IE Guest

    If you keep your PC ON for downloading then No ;)
     
  9. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    isnt this already common knowlidge...
    anyways nicely explained...
     
  10. Lucky_star

    Lucky_star Still Shining!

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Up 'n' above
    There is this particular software form Lifsoft called Auto Poweron & Shutdown http://www.lifsoft.com/,
    using which you can do lots of scheduled tasks like:
    Shutting and restarting the computer at predefined times,
    Automatic waking up from Standby or Hibernate mode,
    Starting and stopping programs as and whe needed,
    And as you said it can play audio files which can be used as alarms.
    and lot more.

    Using this you can wake the computer from standby or hibernate mode in the morning and play a music. In this way, too much power is not used up in keeping the system on all night.:)
     
  11. baccilus

    baccilus Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    If you use linux, download exaile music player. It's an amarok counterpart for GNome. It has this feature inbuilt. Open exaile, then tools>plugins>highlight alarm clock and then configure.
    __________
    Link: http://www.exaile.org/
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2006
  12. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Aren't there any programs on Windows meant for the specific purpose of serving as an alarm? I know two of them on a Macintosh: Alarm Clock Pro and Aurora. I am sure they must have PC counterparts too, nothing a good Google search cannot yield. :)
     
  13. Desi-Tek.com

    Desi-Tek.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    @aryayush don't tell us that u never used windows?
     
  14. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    I did. I used it for four years but I never felt the need to make my PC serve as an alarm clock so I do not know about any software that can do so.
     
  15. blueshift

    blueshift Wise Old Crow

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Inside the Pixel
    I had used College Alarm. Link. Its just a 272kb app and free.

    Anyways thanks SE><IE.
    But i don't keep my pc on in the night.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    SE><IE

    SE><IE Guest

    @lucky star: There's no need to use third party S/Ws for waking up etc. Like I said you do have the option of "wake computer to run this task" option.
    But nothing can switch ON the UPS :D
     
  17. nikhilrao

    nikhilrao New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nicely explained dude :)
     
  18. Lucky_star

    Lucky_star Still Shining!

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Up 'n' above
    You can use third party hardwares which can do that task too:D
     
  19. OP
    OP
    SE><IE

    SE><IE Guest

    Oye yaar, ek cheez ke liye itne dkarne ki kya zaroorat hai. UPS se band na karo aur kya ;)
     
  20. Manshahia

    Manshahia Resident Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /Milky way/earth/india/
    @ SE><IE
    If i hav turned my UPS on but the PC is shutdown. WIll my PC be automatically Restarted when the time comes??
    If YES then plz xplain...
    Tnx
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page