CDKey

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by marulez, Nov 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marulez

    marulez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, may this question might be little bit weird but i hope some of you guys can help me. I bought a laptop a month ago..and got a free Windows Media Edition DVD for free. In that DVD there wasn't any serial key coz the DVD was already activated.
    Now after a month from now, i formatted my desktop and tried to install a original Media Center which i got while buying my laptop. Now the weird thing is that it asks for serial number and it keeps on giving warning that i should activate it within 30 days. So far, 5 dayz have already passed that makes 25 dayz remainin.
    So, my question is, is there any way to retrieve the CD-key from the OS (media center) that i have already installed in my laptop.


    Note: Pls don't tell me to talk to customer service from where i bought it.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. vkr15

    vkr15 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Magical Jelly Bean Keyfinder v 1.41.
    Google for it and download it. 256 kB file, I reckon.
    vkr15
     
  3. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    if u have formatted the pc i dont think this jellybean finder will help u :)
    go to ur hardware supplier from where u bought the lappy from and ask him to solve ur problem.

    incidentally this jellyguy is found at reputed sites like snapfiles and http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=2612 too. try it and c...
     
  4. sysfilez

    sysfilez Welcome To The Jungle

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Living in a garbage can.
    if u have formatted the drive, i guess u cant retrive the cd key. only option is to get back to ur dealer.
     
  5. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    guyess i am missing a point here... what i know... MS windows ToS doesnt allow him to install that OS which came with Lappy in to his Desktop... :|

    yes he certainly can format and install in his Lappy... but not in desktop as he need to buy a another licance... :(
     
  6. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    are u sure it is askinf for the key. I think u are only required to activate it
     
  7. Ramakrishnan

    Ramakrishnan The Researcher

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I think you connect to the internet and activate it.
     
  8. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    I totally agree with @Saurav_cheeta.
    @marulez, You bought a laptop with WME pre-installed. That means you can install
    the WME DVD only in the laptop (you bought) & not in any other desktop or laptop!!!
    For installing WME in your desktop, you need to buy another license!!!
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2006
  9. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    buy the way... guyess check this out...

    Source

    well well well... u cant even buy a paper licance too for windows XP MCE... its only going to come with a pre installed branded system....

    so what he is doing is totally illigal... :(
     
  10. s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,608
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    @marulez ,How the heck did you install the MCE on your Desktop???

    Coz the OEM Windows( MCE) DVD has all the Motherboard Drivers in it, & those drivers are also installed onto your m/b when you install Windows (MCE).

    ^^ this is what reply i got from HP Support Centre, when i asked them what i have to do to install my XP Home on a new M/B.

    btw the CD Key is printed on a Microsoft Sticker maybe pasted below your Laptop.
     
  11. ax3

    ax3 Cool as a CUCUMBAR ! ! !

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,388
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    go go go ....... grab THE DEALER & make the OS work 4 U ........
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page