Cd doesnt get detected....

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by sweetricha07, Oct 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweetricha07

    sweetricha07 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I recently bought a combo drive but right from day one it was giving me some troubles. Sometimes it simply refused to detect the cd/dvd inside or at other times it used to detect the presence of a disk inside but didn't used to read from it. After opening the drive and rotating the disk a little everything used to work fine. I thought there was a problem with my drive so I had it replaced but later on I discovered that any drive that I attach to my PC gives me the same problem. Any help ????
     
  2. Kiran.dks

    Kiran.dks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune, India
    This is a driver related issue. Is operating system detecting your CD Drive? Can you see CD/DVD icon im my computer? If yes..
    Try these steps:
    1. Perform a system restore to the best working time.
    2. Make sure you are inserting a good disc
    3. Update the drivers to the latest version.

    Do revert back with feedback.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sweetricha07

    sweetricha07 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Hi. Yes, there is an icon in My Computer, I have tried System Restore, installing Windows, updating drivers. Nothing has worked uptil now.
     
  4. iMav

    iMav The Devil's Advocate

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Masti Ki Paathshaala
    chk the cables .... connect the cd drive to the same cable as that of ur hdd and then see
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sweetricha07

    sweetricha07 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune

    "A little learning is a dangerous thing; drink deep, or taste not the Pierian spring: there shallow draughts intoxicate the brain, and drinking largely sobers us again."
    __________
    Tried changing IDE as well. Didnt solve the problem.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2006
  6. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    R d jumper settings correct for CD/DVD drive.Check the jumper setting.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    sweetricha07

    sweetricha07 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    yaar, the jumper settings are correct. the disk inside the drive doesnt get detected not the drive itself and that too sometimes.
     
  8. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    What chipset-based mobo do u hav?
     
  9. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    did u try swapping ide cables for ur drives...put it in pri master slot n plug ur hdd to sec or slave...if still d same u got driver problems....wich os u using?

    Enjoy~!
     
  10. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    Just try 1 thing.Update the firmware of ur combo drive.Chances r dat it'll solve ur prob.Had a similar prob wit my SONY DRU-720A.crossflashed it to a Liteon SOHW 1693S and had no probs after dat.It wud be better if u mention ur drives Make and model no here cuz if u flash the firmware in a wrong way ur combo will be dead...
     
  11. OP
    OP
    sweetricha07

    sweetricha07 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I've tried all the IDE slots. And thanx abt the firmware choice. I'll try that one out.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page