Can't set homepage as blank...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bizzare_blue, Dec 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bizzare_blue

    bizzare_blue New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow
    One of my friend has IE6 installed...he is facing a strange prob from a few days...He is not able to set the homepage to "about:blank" or anything else as the "Use Current", "Use Default" & "Use Blank" buttons are disabled and the homepage has been set to a strange site...

    I asked him to reinstall IE6 but the problem persists....wat can be done to resolve this?
     
  2. n2casey

    n2casey Super Hero - Super Powers

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dynamic
    It seems that ur system is infected with spy. Scan ur system with Ad-Aware.
    Download Hijack This, scan & send a log file.
     
  3. nileshgr

    nileshgr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune, Maharashtra, India
    Scan for a virus, spyware or adware with latest update.

    Recommended Full System Scan with Avast! 4.7 Home for virus and trojans
     
  4. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    first run adaware and spybot (or any 2 good anti-spys) in SAFE MODE.
    then use 'ccleaner' to clear up residual pc junk.
    now follow this :

    Home Page Change :
    If the feature is disabled (greyed out), go to Doug Knox's site and download this script this dougknox script and save this file to your hard drive. Navigate 2 where u saved it n double click d file. d VB Script file will check 4 d appropriate value & if not found will create it. u will be notified whether d option is enabled or disabled.

    2 manually make d change:
    open Regedit and go to and change to
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main] "about:blank"

    Home Page Hijacked :
    If the Tabs have been removed from Internet Explorer/Tools/Internet Options and/or u receive a restriction warning message, run
    Restore All Tabs under Internet Options (kellyskorner tweak no 268 ) It will restore all tabs and lift the restriction.

    after u have set to 'about:blank' using above or internet options now, lock it !
    download this kellyskorner registry tweak and doubleclick/add 2 registry.

    also c my thread How To Lock Your HomePage for more ! [​IMG]
     
  5. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    use ad-aware, spybot search & destroy, ccleaner, windows defender and avast always. These softwares will keep ur PC safe from such malwares. Btw just use Ad-Aware and spybot this time to remove this malware
     
  6. pritish_kul2

    pritish_kul2 ★★★★★★★★★

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in a house
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page