Can't play mp3s in ubuntu linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

sarincv

Journeyman
I am new to ubuntu linux. when I recieved the installation cd, I installed successfully, but i can't play any of my mp3 files or video files. Help me

JGuru

Wise Old Owl
Which version of Ubuntu you are using? If you are using version 5 , you need to upgrade your distro. If you are using version 6. You need to download & install XMMS.
Since MP3 format is patented they can't give it free in Ubuntu.
For installing XMMS & MPlayer (to play VCD, DVD, almost all video formats)
checkout the following link:
*www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=48791

JGuru

Wise Old Owl
You can install XMMS this way in Ubuntu. Open the terminal Window.

sudo apt-get install libmikmod2

sudo apt-get install xmms

You'll see after a few minutes XMMS will be installed to ready to play MP3!!

Techmastro

Journeyman
Hi buddy,
me too recently switched to Ubuntu version 6
I installed xmms player through which i am able to play mp3 files. also i installed vlc player for .avi files.
Open synaptic package manager from system>administration and select packages

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
Install automatix
Here's how-to *ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=138405
And please do make a search in future. This thing has been posted here before.

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
vignesh said:
or Try beep media player.. Its an xmms clone and really slick and fast.
AFIAK that project is dead and now they are working on BMP player or something :?:

JGuru

Wise Old Owl
Hey, Tech_your_future, don't advice for installing Automatix. You need high-speed
broadband for using it - ie., 512 kbps or higher 2 MB/ sec will be most suitable.
Automatix installs lots of applications that will take hours and hours even on 128
kbps broadband!! No broadband service provider is giving 2 MB/ sec in India!!
In US broadband is very cheap and also very very fast (more than 768 kbps - 2 MB).