1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

can't open Regedit

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by amirmsebe, Feb 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amirmsebe

    amirmsebe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys...

    i don't know wht happened to my registry editor... i found that it has pblm when tried to open regedit from RUN...also when i try to install any s/w it displays this err " Unable to Execute File : c:\windows\regedit.exe , Create Process failed : code 2 the system can't find the specified file. "....hlp me how to repair this....


    config:

    WinXp sp2
    160 MB RAM
    AirTel DSL


    :shock:
     
  2. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    Hi,
    Check whether you have Regedit.exe file in System32 folder. Also, check for a file with the name Regedit.com and post back whether it exists.
     
  3. bit

    bit Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you used any tweaking softwares to deny access for execution of regedit.exe ?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    amirmsebe

    amirmsebe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmm,
    i have searched for it. i got files => regedt32.exe, regwiz.exe, regtrace.exe, regini.exe, regsvc.dll. but there is no regedit.com or regedit.exe in the system32 folder. iam using WinXp sp2.
     
  5. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    Sorry, i should have mentioned Windows folder. Regedit.exe should be in Windows folder. Is it there? If not, download it from here (choose "Free" download service) and put it in Windows folder. And, then check whether it works or not.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    amirmsebe

    amirmsebe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thnx, :D
    it worked well. can u tell me how it could be corrupted. is it by nay virus or else. i use AVG7 antivirus.
     
  7. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    Hi,
    Its not always due to virus or any other malware, there can be other reasons too. However, its better to thoroughly scan your system with your AntiVirus and/or any AntiSpyware software.
     
  8. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    the file might have got courrupted, if your system crashed while using regedit.exe or while installing a software.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    amirmsebe

    amirmsebe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes.... i have found one process running in memory named "servicemanager.exe" which uses different icons every time when i boot.i mean it automatically takes any application icon and it as it's own application icon.

    Also all the application icons are changed and set to default (unknown file icon). i've tried to stop the process from taskmanager n removed it from startup (msconfig).
    but it resets(automatically again checks the tick in msconfig) and appear at startup after i restart the system.

    i found that "servicemanager.exe" in system root (system32 folder) and i deleted it. but it all appears again in root folder as well as in startup and process.

    is this file good? shall i keep it.
     
  10. bit

    bit Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. OP
    OP
    amirmsebe

    amirmsebe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yuppy...

    you are right guys..... i scan that and it reported as virus infected...
    i downloaded the trial download and scanned entire system well .... i restored some application's icons and works well....
     
  12. bit

    bit Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Before scanning did you updated KAV with latest updates ?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    amirmsebe

    amirmsebe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    .......hmmmm.... yes i updated the database and then scanned my systtem throughly...

    it worked well...disinfected all exe file..... :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page