Can you suggest a better PC....

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by HellKing, Jul 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HellKing

    HellKing New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Guys,
    My shop vendor gave me this list of details about a new PC under 40k. Can anyone suggest better parts than the ones already listed? And also, please fill in the blunt details like what kind of stuff would be better and why?

    I am a n00b here so Hi to all you guys!!. Pleeeeease reply.

    PS. there are a few alterations like I would like a Pinnacle TTC and what kind of cabinet\PSU should I go for?

    01.Processor-IntelPIV dual core Pentium D Processor --------- Rs.13,500.00
    with 945 G Intel Board

    02.Hard Disk Drive - Segate Barracude 160GB 7200RPM
    ---------- Rs. 3,250.00

    03.FLOPPY DRIVE
    ----------- Rs. 2,75.00
    04.Monitor 17" Samsung Color
    ----------- Rs. 5,450.00
    05.Tower Pentium IV Cabinet with SMPS ------------
    Rs. 1,050.00
    06. Memory DDR2- 1 Gb - 5400.00 ------------
    07. Key Board TVSE GOLD
    ------------- Rs . 1,075.00
    08. Optical Mouse - Microsoft Wheel Mouse Optical
    -------------- Rs. 800
    09. SONY DVD WRITER DUAL --------------
    Rs. 2,950.00
    10. Creative stereo speakers with wooferSMS 2.1 -------------- Rs.
    1,375.00
    11.56 kbps internal Modem
    -------------- Rs. 225.00
    12.TV Tuner card with Remote (Typhoon or Intex) -------------- Rs.
    1,150.00
    13. PARADYNE UPS 600 V.A. ---------------
    Rs. 2,000.00
     
  2. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1>Which model 805/820/920 etc.....
    2>Make sure the drive is SATA
    3>ok
    4>ok (check the max resolution..and refresh rate)
    5>Get a good Cabinet with good ventilation...coz the 8xxx series heats up too much.......get at least a 400 watt SMPS with 20A accross +12V
    6>Go for 512X2 sticks and set them up in dual channel...
    7>ok
    8>ok
    9>ok
    10>ok
    11>ok
    12>Try getting PIXEL TV or Pinnacle.....
    ......................................................................................................
     
  3. OP
    OP
    HellKing

    HellKing New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks mate.. any ohter suggestions??
     
  4. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am assuming that your PC isn't meant for gaming.
    What is the purpose of this pc?

    Please wait for intel conroe to be released in August.

    Please tell us your requirement and budget.
     
  5. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Don't go for internal modem, buy D-Link external modem. It will give you better
    browsing experience, the data transfer rates are better than an internal modem.
     
  6. bharathbala2003

    bharathbala2003 why need title?

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CONFUSED!! AM LOST
    my suggestion wld be that don go in for dialup modem dude.. days r changin now n broadband is much cheaper than ever.. anyway if the comp is meant for gaming then pls dont go in for it at al.. cos its jus average dude.. if its for jus entertainment n home use then its ok..
     
  7. OP
    OP
    HellKing

    HellKing New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, this PC would be for family use. Little bit of gaming will be there but not a lot of it(mostly like COD or Age Of Empires III). I will also be using it for educational purposes and for a little bit of 3D modelling like AutoCAD and 3ds Max. Video Editing and photoshop would be there also along with web designing. This is the best PC I can afford for 40,000 RS. Also, I am thinking of scrapping the Spreakers, FDD and modem(got a broadband :) ). Can anyone suggest any better PC configs? I am open to AMD but the preformance should be good in 2D designing also :) . I am a n00b so pleeeese suggest something!

    Also, I might go with a standard PC and get a graphics card later???. You are the expersts here. Please suggest

    Well, Let the graphics be a factor. If I can get better graphics in a system with almost same config, well and good, if not, I'll think of a AGP card later. Please interject on other parts. please.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2006
  8. bharathbala2003

    bharathbala2003 why need title?

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CONFUSED!! AM LOST
    ntel 945G DDR2+Sata 2 945G,S,L,16xPCX 5475
    Intel Dual Core 3.0 GHz 800MHz, 4MB,LGA-HT 9550
    512MB-DDR-400 533 MHZ - PC4000 1975X2=3950
    160GB - SATA Baracuda / Puma 7200rpm 3400
    Sony OEM DVD-Writer 16x, Dual Layer, 8.5GB 2250
    Zebronics 10 Models w/USB, Audio & Fan 1200~1400(this is with SMPS 400W)
    LG 17" LCD 12400
    keyboard+mouse(optical) 500 to 700 depends on personal choice
    mayb a fx 5200 128MB lultra atleast wil cost about 2000

    these prices are all ex-chennai n this wil roughily by about 41K mayb 1 or 2 K less if ur in mumbai,delhi or bang..
     
  9. OP
    OP
    HellKing

    HellKing New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    x 5200 128MB
    what is it, a graphics card???
    I earlier used D915G now going for D945G so no need for Graphics Card now. I might get it later.(Around January, getting 10k then frm Bonds.) I think PCIx16 will have become commpn then and the prices would have reduced :)

    Anyway bharathbala2003, samrulez, akshayt and JGuru. Thanks a lot for all the great Suggestions!!! Keep them coming :)
     
  10. bharathbala2003

    bharathbala2003 why need title?

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CONFUSED!! AM LOST
    yes it is a graphics card.. yes onboard is gud enuff not but not for high gaming.. mayb average graphics can be expected.. using a 915 u wil know it ;)
     
  11. maverickrohan

    maverickrohan SABER RIDER

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    well well ...what do we have here ....

    You cannot play AOE3 & COD without a GFX ...

    40K is a big budget these days ... i guess u can easily fit in a 7600Gt 256MB which retails for 11,500 ... you will be able to play those games fine on it ...

    Please buy an SMPS separately ... the ones which u get with the cabinet r JUNK ...

    You can buy a Powersafe 400Watt SMPS for 1500 (its very important to have at least 20 Amps on the 12Volt rail, you even get 30 Amps, but 20 should be enough)

    And about the Proccy, i would suggest an AMD Dual Core anyday ...
     
  12. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well there is not much diff. between 5200 and GMA 900..except it has its own memory.......

    Who told AOE III will not work on the IGP.....It worked on my friends UniChromell with 8MB v ram and 256MB system ram....but at 800*600 with quite low settings....and the 945 IGP is much much more superior...
     
  13. bharathbala2003

    bharathbala2003 why need title?

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CONFUSED!! AM LOST
    well i got my smps with cabinet only it was 450 W 25V accross 12 i think its decent enuff dude..

    and as for AMD well the dual core costs a bomb i mean the 939 pin thats the prob.. :) well as for fx5200 well it does have a high power but its far better than IGP any damn day man..i accept fx5200 is bad but its not to be compared with IGP unichrome i have a sis unichrome in my mobo which can share 64mb(gigabyte k8vm) but i can tell u after adding the fx5200 i could see total difference in gameplay believe me dude..anyway i tol tat cos he din want a gfx so better than a onboard dude.. :)
     
  14. OP
    OP
    HellKing

    HellKing New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For all the people, the graphics onboard D945G are GMA 950 which support 256MB of RAM. For the self RAM part, who gives a damn how much RAM GMA950 shares?? I got 1GB ram to boost up my GMA950. Anyway, I will go with the onboard solution until I can get money to buy a high end graphics Card.
     
  15. Ch@0s

    Ch@0s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    25V across 12 what :p. It might be 25A on the 12V rail but highly unlikely unless the cabinet is antec.

    FX5200 is the most POS video card NV ever made. Any 6100/6150/RS480 and maybe even 945G based motherboard with onboard video will be way way faster than any FX5200 :p.
     
  16. bharathbala2003

    bharathbala2003 why need title?

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CONFUSED!! AM LOST
    actually the mobo i suggested has a PCX slot so 6600 wil cost bout 7K max i think..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page