can we upload music from tape recorder to pc?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by ParadoX, Aug 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ParadoX

    ParadoX New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    guys,
    can anyone suggest me a software to upload music from a tape recorder to a pc? please give me instructions or weblinks , how to do it.
    i am using a 60 watt sony cfs1050s
     
  2. wORm

    wORm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    MusicMatch Jukebox can record from the soundcard to mp3. Just connect the line-out of your tape player to the line-in of your comp and you are all set to start recording.
     
  3. girish_b

    girish_b New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kerala , calicut
    will he ablr to doit in a small 6o watt system? any answers?
     
  4. girish_b

    girish_b New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kerala , calicut
  5. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    well digit gave the full procedure in one of their earlier issues dont remember which. y dont u look into the cd of june 03 which had all the previous issues in the digital format and u might b able to get the proper procedure
     
  6. sohummisra

    sohummisra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    yeah all you need is to get that line in-line out cable. its a cable that has the (in laymans terms) earphone plug on both ends. :D. after that you can use any software (i prefer musicmatch jukebox) that supports sound recording, and just set the input to line-in recording.
     
  7. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    i'll prefer sound forge as you can remove the noise and do other corrections after recording...
     
  8. Kl@w-24

    Kl@w-24 Slideshow Bob

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Cool Edit Pro (now Adobe Audition) is well-suited to convert analog music into digital format (cassette to CD) ;) .
     
  9. curvenger

    curvenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Aizawl
    Yeah line in-out to your tape and connected to your sound card with the other pin, you can use soundforge, Cool Edit, Musicmatch.. but i recommended cool edit, coz u can edit and make changs to the sound file easily!
     
  10. wORm

    wORm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    ParadoX, I don't know what the "technical term" is for the cable, but if you tell an audio guy to get you a "single-to-double" cable, he'll get you a cable with a headphone size pin on one end and two standard auxillary pins on the other end. Also insist on a stereo cable and avoid the mono version.

    girish_b, the wattage of the source (in this case 60 watts) doesn't matter, as we are transferring un-amplified sound. We can expect good quality reproduction of sound, provided that the source recording is good.
     
  11. technomodel

    technomodel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    i prefer audio maestro by Tobest software. It has features similar to Audition, but it has an added cool feature i could'nt find in audition. It gives you a recording option where u can play the tape and leave it by itself, it will autodetect pauses between songs and start a new file accordingly. This saves you from clicking the 'stop' button every 3-4 minutes, or end up with a 1 gb file with nothing but garbage at the end. :)
    but it will work smoothly if you have 256mb or more ram.
     
  12. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    But use this as your last resort, cuz the soubd quality isn't exactly that good. But still a good way of experimenting with audio and stuff.
     
  13. Ashis

    Ashis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    Try CoolEdit Pro! :shock:
    (Smart, Simple & Smooth) 8)
     
  14. technomodel

    technomodel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
  15. Kl@w-24

    Kl@w-24 Slideshow Bob

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I used Microsoft Plus! Digital Media Edition. The recording quality was top-notch :) !!
     
  16. EinSTeiN

    EinSTeiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Relative Time Space
    Use Jetaudio, it is the easiest option. even kids can use it. www.jetaudio.com
     
  17. adithyagenius

    adithyagenius I WANT MORE FPS!!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shifted to Hydreabad from Mumbai
    What is that software & where did u get it
     
  18. silly_kash

    silly_kash New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    don't worry if u can't find the cable!!

    just go to your neighbourhood tv repair shop and buy 2 pins and wire to suit ur needs and tell him to solder it!! i got my 3 metre cable for rs 15!!
     
  19. abhishekkulkarni

    abhishekkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amche Pune

    There is no need to download any third party software.If you use Windows XP just by using Windows Movie Maker which is installed by default u can record audio from ur audio system in WMA Format.Connect the Headphone outlet of your player to the line in port of your soundcard by using a mala-male cable.The recording quality is great.you can select as high a bitrate as you like.
     
  20. pantheratigris

    pantheratigris New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I first did this about 3 years ago. I had taken a walkman. Connected the line out jack(headphone socket) to the line in(mic) at the back of your PC cabinet. Then i played the songs on the walkman, recorded the songs on the sound recorder in windows. Then i saved it as a .wav file. Then using a software known as dBPowerAmp music converter i converted the files from .wav to .mp3. You can also use Windows Media Encoder to convert to .wma format which is as good as mp3.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page