1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

can we upload music from tape recorder to pc?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by ParadoX, Aug 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ParadoX

    ParadoX New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    guys,
    can anyone suggest me a software to upload music from a tape recorder to a pc? please give me instructions or weblinks , how to do it.
    i am using a 60 watt sony cfs1050s
     
  2. wORm

    wORm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    MusicMatch Jukebox can record from the soundcard to mp3. Just connect the line-out of your tape player to the line-in of your comp and you are all set to start recording.
     
  3. girish_b

    girish_b New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kerala , calicut
    will he ablr to doit in a small 6o watt system? any answers?
     
  4. girish_b

    girish_b New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kerala , calicut
  5. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    well digit gave the full procedure in one of their earlier issues dont remember which. y dont u look into the cd of june 03 which had all the previous issues in the digital format and u might b able to get the proper procedure
     
  6. sohummisra

    sohummisra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    yeah all you need is to get that line in-line out cable. its a cable that has the (in laymans terms) earphone plug on both ends. :D. after that you can use any software (i prefer musicmatch jukebox) that supports sound recording, and just set the input to line-in recording.
     
  7. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    i'll prefer sound forge as you can remove the noise and do other corrections after recording...
     
  8. Kl@w-24

    Kl@w-24 Slideshow Bob

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Cool Edit Pro (now Adobe Audition) is well-suited to convert analog music into digital format (cassette to CD) ;) .
     
  9. curvenger

    curvenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Aizawl
    Yeah line in-out to your tape and connected to your sound card with the other pin, you can use soundforge, Cool Edit, Musicmatch.. but i recommended cool edit, coz u can edit and make changs to the sound file easily!
     
  10. wORm

    wORm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    ParadoX, I don't know what the "technical term" is for the cable, but if you tell an audio guy to get you a "single-to-double" cable, he'll get you a cable with a headphone size pin on one end and two standard auxillary pins on the other end. Also insist on a stereo cable and avoid the mono version.

    girish_b, the wattage of the source (in this case 60 watts) doesn't matter, as we are transferring un-amplified sound. We can expect good quality reproduction of sound, provided that the source recording is good.
     
  11. technomodel

    technomodel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    i prefer audio maestro by Tobest software. It has features similar to Audition, but it has an added cool feature i could'nt find in audition. It gives you a recording option where u can play the tape and leave it by itself, it will autodetect pauses between songs and start a new file accordingly. This saves you from clicking the 'stop' button every 3-4 minutes, or end up with a 1 gb file with nothing but garbage at the end. :)
    but it will work smoothly if you have 256mb or more ram.
     
  12. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    But use this as your last resort, cuz the soubd quality isn't exactly that good. But still a good way of experimenting with audio and stuff.
     
  13. Ashis

    Ashis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    Try CoolEdit Pro! :shock:
    (Smart, Simple & Smooth) 8)
     
  14. technomodel

    technomodel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
  15. Kl@w-24

    Kl@w-24 Slideshow Bob

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I used Microsoft Plus! Digital Media Edition. The recording quality was top-notch :) !!
     
  16. EinSTeiN

    EinSTeiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Relative Time Space
    Use Jetaudio, it is the easiest option. even kids can use it. www.jetaudio.com
     
  17. adithyagenius

    adithyagenius I WANT MORE FPS!!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shifted to Hydreabad from Mumbai
    What is that software & where did u get it
     
  18. silly_kash

    silly_kash New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    don't worry if u can't find the cable!!

    just go to your neighbourhood tv repair shop and buy 2 pins and wire to suit ur needs and tell him to solder it!! i got my 3 metre cable for rs 15!!
     
  19. abhishekkulkarni

    abhishekkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amche Pune

    There is no need to download any third party software.If you use Windows XP just by using Windows Movie Maker which is installed by default u can record audio from ur audio system in WMA Format.Connect the Headphone outlet of your player to the line in port of your soundcard by using a mala-male cable.The recording quality is great.you can select as high a bitrate as you like.
     
  20. pantheratigris

    pantheratigris New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    I first did this about 3 years ago. I had taken a walkman. Connected the line out jack(headphone socket) to the line in(mic) at the back of your PC cabinet. Then i played the songs on the walkman, recorded the songs on the sound recorder in windows. Then i saved it as a .wav file. Then using a software known as dBPowerAmp music converter i converted the files from .wav to .mp3. You can also use Windows Media Encoder to convert to .wma format which is as good as mp3.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page