1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Can this be done

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by ashfame, May 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    i have P4 2.8ghz with 256MB DDR RAM out of which 64MB is reserved for Vram.
    It gives me poor performance in newer games.
    I have seen a option of changing this reserved amount of Vram, so i am thinking of buying a 512MB stick & then changing my Vram to 128MB.
    Will that improve performance in the games?
     
  2. digiFriend

    digiFriend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no, there will not be much noticable performance improvement in the games.for playing games buy graphic card.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    I hav heard games like gta sa can give 70fps on the same config. @ 512MB ram
    After adding one more slot of 512MB ram, i will be having 768Mb ram.
    I can run the game, fraps shows about 10-12fps.
    I just want more frame rates @ 800 * 600. (it is the resolution on which it runs).
    Would i be able to play @ 1024*768 with 30fps.
    I neither have AGP or PCI-e slot.
    Only experienced members should reply as a wrong suggestion could waste my money.
     
  4. h_kunte

    h_kunte New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur, India
    hey ashfame...

    Do go in for the xtra 512 MB RAM stick...It will definiely give a performance boost not only for playing games but also in the other applications since u shall get *dual channel* mode for data transfer...

    256 + 512 MB RAM is a lovely combination for running just about any present day application...

    Just make sure that u increase the shared memory for video (V-RAM) to 128 MB.

    HK
     
  5. forever

    forever filth is me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey can any1 tell how 2 increase the shared memory , i have an intel 82845G
    card and it tells me the max amount of memory is 64 mb, so what do i do if i have 2 increase it, get the latest drivers supportin it?
     
  6. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @ashfame: You can increase your RAM to 1 terabyte and it won't make any difference to your frame rates. Neither will increasing VRAM help.

    @h_kunte: Dual channel only works when both sticks are of the same size.

    @forever: increase AGP aperture size from the BIOS.
     
  7. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 845 integrated graphics supports a maximum of 64 MB VRAM,so u can't go beyond that by increasing RAM or updating the drivers.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    So a kind of mix reply.
    What should i do?
    Anyways but what is the price for a 512MB DDR stick @ 266Mhz.
     
  9. vandit

    vandit New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    If I had a webcam u could have seen me, before you
    I have a doubt.....
    if we increase the amount of ram , will the max. amount of shared ram increase??????
    means suppose i have 256 mb ram and max is 64MB then if i increase it to 512 MB then will the max become 128MB?????
     
  10. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @vandit:if u have integrated graphics based on the 845 chipset,then the shared VRAM cannot go above 64 MB,irrespective of the RAM u have.
     
  11. Dink2cool

    Dink2cool New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehra Dun
    @vandit
    the max size of vram supported by ur mobo remains already fixed .. so if its max size is 64 mb then it'll remain 64 mb whether you double your , triple it or reduce it to half of its value

    @ashfame
    shared video memory is always inferior to dedicated memory of a graphics card .. so if u wish to play a game with proper frame rates then u should go for a graphics card instead of increasing your ram

    hope this may solve your problem :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page