1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Can I change my chipset?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by sourav, Feb 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sourav

    sourav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar, Orissa
    I have bought a new computer. It is Intel D915GLVG which uses 915 chipset. Will it support PCIe x16 because above PCI there is written PCIe x16 and has some pin which have been soldered(soldering).

    Can I Intel Pentium 4 Extreme Edition run on my computer?
    Can I Intel Pentium 4 Extreme Edition run on m computer by changing my chipset to anyother chipset and BIOS?

    I have another CPU, that is Intel pentium Celeron 735 Mhz with its motherboard. Can I join this two computer and gain extra power?
     
  2. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Yes you can run extreme edition in this motherboard. but before you install the new processor update your bios to the latest. chk out www.intel.com for more information.

    No you cannot change the chipset because its soldered to the motherboard.

    It might be possibe at a higher level but not for smaller computers i guess. you just cant connect a cable between the two and use the processing power.
     
  3. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    No buddy... it is not possible to change ones chipset.. u will need to change the mobo itself... neither can u get the added power or something...
     
  4. phatratt

    phatratt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mysore
    the chipset is soldered to the mobo,so don't ever think of changing the chipset,just get a new mobo else update u'r existing hardware drivers.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sourav

    sourav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar, Orissa
    thanx all of you. as my exam was there i could not see. it's sad that i cannot join this two computers.
    but however it could be possible.
     
  6. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^
    do u mind tellin us how, it is possible :shock:
     
  7. OP
    OP
    sourav

    sourav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar, Orissa
    i don't know. as you know nothing is impossible. i feel it could be possible
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page