1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Can ADSL modem be used for dial-up connection also?

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by aravind_72, Feb 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aravind_72

    aravind_72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using broadband connection from BSNL with ADSL modem. I don't have dial up modem and hence i am using my moodem thru USB port. Is it possible to use it for dial-up connection? Please help.
     
  2. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no u cannot
     
  3. icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Dont have a clue as to what you mean by dial-up. Cos ADSL is a broadband thru phone lines. So why would you want to use the modem for dial-up purposes ? Sorry mate you've completely lost me. Could you provide more information as to what your trying to do, perhaps we can help better then.
     
  4. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    perhasp.. i can clear it on my way... i am asking the same question but with a little modification...

    Can we send or Receive FAX useing an ADSL internet connection (MODEM) like we used to do in our old 56K dialup modem....
     
  5. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
  6. PainKiller

    PainKiller thug for life...2pac

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nEw dElHi [wEsT]
  7. Captain Crime

    Captain Crime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Murder house!!
  8. mario_pant

    mario_pant New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mushroom KiNGDOME!
    forget it.....
    the modems do not have any capability to Dial any thing... as they are just recognised as a LAN device on your computer.... so ur computer does not know it is a modem!
     
  9. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    alright since everyone has just said no ( including me ) lemme clarify this to u
    as stated above by mario the pc detects it as a lan device
    hence it has no drect access to your telephone line
    APART from this if u realise isp's ( atleast some ) install a sort of splitter with ur modem
    one line in
    one phone out
    one modem out

    this is not simply so u have a parallel line
    this splitter also has a filter in it which segregates the data channel and voice channel from ur telephone line
    since adsl modems tend to make a high pitch noise this is a good idea obviously.

    atleast thats what it says in the theory of dsl :p
    so i guess these 2 points should be enough for everyone to understand as to "WHY AN ADSL MODEM CANNOT BE USED TO ACCESS PHONE LINES ( to make calls, dial up, fax etc. )" and as to "WHY A DIALUP MODEM CANNOT BE USED AS AN ADSL MODEM "
     
  10. OP
    OP
    aravind_72

    aravind_72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks

    Thank U all for your valuable advice. will come back again with some more doubts! :lol:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page