Bye Bye Ubuntu... I shall miss you... NOT

Status
Not open for further replies.
I first started using linux an year back. I started with Ubuntu 7.04. It was one of the most enjoyable operating systems I ever used. A few weeks back, I decided to install the newer Long Time Support Version, ubuntu hardy heron. Its quite unstable and often laggy on my system. Unlike an year back, when I had no OS but ubuntu to use, because I was a newbie, times are different now. I am an experienced linux user, and ubuntu is far below my standards.

So its time to ditch ubuntu for good.

Bye Bye Ubuntu. Had a nice time with you.

I am moving to Debian Sid now, and you may see more posts about my experiences with Sid now.

So you guys think I made the right move ?

I am shifting to Debian-Sid-KDE+IceWM from tomorrow.

hullap

Cyborg Agent
www.debian.org said:
"sid" is subject to massive changes and in-place library updates. This can result in a very "unstable" system which contains packages that cannot be installed due to missing libraries, dependencies that cannot be fulfilled etc. Use it at your own risk!
see the bold text :lol: and decide

chandru.in

In the zone
@MetalheadGautham

Moving to Debian is definitely not a bad idea. But I'm just interested, what kinda instability did you face with Hardy Heron? Also, what is ur system config?

Anyway Debian is a good choice (any Linux distro for that matter is).

FilledVoid

Who stole my Alpaca!
ts quite unstable and often laggy on my system. Unlike an year back, when I had no OS but ubuntu to use, because I was a newbie, times are different now. I am an experienced linux user, and ubuntu is far below my standards.

May the force be with you. But considering the system you have I would expect lag. As far as standards are concerned, its more like you outgrowing Ubuntu than Ubuntu deteriorating in performance. Have fun with Debian and I definitely recommend testing over Sid.

chandru.in

In the zone