Buying New UPS & a tv tuner .. !!

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by rollcage, Mar 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Hi Guyz
    I have APC AVR-500 now .. purchased in 2000, but its givin some problems .. changed the battery still not workin properly.
    So .. I think its better to take a new one now
    (My config: AMD Athlon64 2800+, 768MB Ram, ASUS K8N, geforce5200, 15"monitor)

    1. APC 500va is coming under 2k .. is it best
    a.Plz give me options may be in 800va
    b.is there any ups comin with a timer on & timer off
    (this may sound strange but i thought may be its available)
    c. is apc has one model for desktp pc .. or more than 1?

    2. Tell me about the TV Tuner card with FM
    which one is good.
    what we need to know when buyin one.

    Please tell prices too

    Regards
     
  2. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
    go get compro tv gold pvr/fm or pinnacle . NEVER BUY PIXELVIEW - IT SUCKS.

    As for ups , buy wipro or apc. AVOID DLINK
     
  3. q3_abhi

    q3_abhi New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Tech Com TV tuner cards are available around 1k, u can go for it. Even pinnacle is gud.


    Many UPS options are available these days.

    U can ask ur computer wala for the UPS, he can guide u the best as he knows wats available in ur city n wat is gud.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    common guyz give some more replies ..
     
  5. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pinnacle for the Tv Tuner

    Wipro for the UPS.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Can you tell which model & Price?

    And Which one is better APC 650VA or Microtech 800VA?
    plz. anyone tell the prices of these two also?
     
  7. yogi7272

    yogi7272 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    vashi, navi mumbai
    My friend has bought microtek 800 va double battery for 2350 rs . here in lamington road mumbai some three months ago .. gives him upto 25-30 minutes backup time with 17 inch monitor and 2.6 c northwood pentium 4 ....but it does not have any protection for lan or modem line ..
     
  8. OP
    OP
    rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    microtek 800 va double battery comes for 2350 rs & APC 500vz comes for around Rs.1900

    I think its better to go for Microtech bcoz of more backup time..
    but APC has more reliability as in my area there not much problem of power-cuts.

    Is Microtek reliable .. ??

    APC India Site: http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=BE500Y-IN
    Run tme: http://www.apc.com/products/runtime_for_extendedruntime.cfm?upsfamily=21
    it says only 4min with full load

    I didnt find microtek link though.
     
  9. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    go for APC 650 VA in 3.5k in mumbai OR the best wold be Powercom 1KVA for 4.4K Future proof. I am buying this on in next week. I personally don't trust Microtek.

    APC or Numeric or Powercom or Powersafe
     
  10. debiprasad_sahoo

    debiprasad_sahoo Web Junky 2.0

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, Cuttack
    APC 650VA is good if you do not want more than 15 minutes for backup. For more backup go for Microtech 800VA. Other good companies are TVS
     
  11. OP
    OP
    rollcage

    rollcage AMD user for 9 yrs!!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Which cos. give data cable to connect to CPU?
    I have ADSL router can it be benefited by line surge protection?

    I know APC is Best .. & I have it .. but I want to know is there any other company which can give almost same performance. I am not going for Microtek. If you can give me other options that will be good.
     
  12. mj_undahood

    mj_undahood New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    gurgaon
    go for microtek 800 va double battery..
    im using it with 17" monitor, p4 3.2 and 6600gt and i get 25min. backup
    been using for 3 months
    im using airtel adsl(beetel 220bx) modem wid it
    no probs...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page