1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Buying A Sata II Hdd

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by jay4u, May 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jay4u

    jay4u New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    My friend wants to buy two SATA HDD and put it in raid. I sugested it the SEAGATE 7200.9 SATA II 160 GB model with 8Mb buffer..... But the problem is i am unable to get it anywhere in mumbai. Can somebody please point it out to me as to how can i get it here in mumbai.... the model number is ST3160812AS....


    Also if possible please write down other alternatives as i am only familiar with seagate products... The products must be in similiar price range +/- 1000 bucks.... and SATA II and 5 years warranty.... Thanks in advance...
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2006
  2. magnet

    magnet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    seriously speaking get a hitachi sata 2 hdd......i tried samsung 2 disc.....bad sectors arised......then seaget one.......it develioped bad sectors...now i have hitach sata 2 250gbdisc..........

    got it for 5.65k through comp selection(also got service centre details)

    prices are ard 1k mor down now.........model u can get via hitachi site if u cant ill find it for u........

    also the main disc on raid is always a low gb disc mainly ppl keep...i guess to save money....btw western digital is favourite for overclockers for it......but the fastest speed 10.2k speed one...cost bomb ard 6k for 36gb
     
  3. OP
    OP
    jay4u

    jay4u New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    is it the hitachi desktar model k750... can u pls give me the exact model number....... and does it have NCQ and backward compatible...... And where exactly is the service center in mumbai... near laminton road....
     
  4. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Will SATA II really make a diff. ??? Get a higher capacity SATA drive .. that too should have 8 MB buffer ... preferably WD or Seagate ...
     
  5. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    How do you get 26A in 12V rails with Antec SP350. As far as know, it is only 20 A (10+10). Sorry if I am wrong.
     
  6. Eazy

    Eazy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Last week I bought the Hitachi SATA II 250GB T7K250 HDD for 4650/- from Prime ABGB at Lamington Road. This has NCQ and it is running on my old ASUS P4 board as a SATA I drive at the moment without any problems. Dont know about the location of service centre but I would give it to Prime in case of a problem.

    The SATA II drives seem to be supplied set as SATA I to avoid problems with running them as SATA II on a SATA I controller.

    To set the Hitachi drive to run as SATA II you have to make this change with Hitachi's software "Hitachi Feature Tools" which can be downloaded from......
    http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/support/download.htm


    WARNING IN HITACHI's DOWNLOAD PAGE......

    Warning!: Switching your drive to support 3.0Gb/s, or enabling spread spectrum clocking and then using it, may render your drive unusable in a system that can't support these functions.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2006
  7. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    Whats the difference b/w a ATA, SATA & SATA II based HDDs?
     
  8. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    @ janitha

    Here u go ... according to the Antec spedcs.. the SP2.0 350W does 10A across 12V1 , and 15A across 12V2 .... thats 25A across 12V ... almost 26A .. my bad ....
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2006
  9. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Yes, you are correct and I was mistaken.

    In this context, I would like to know whether it is through the normal 20/24 pin mobo connector that the two 12V rails supply power. In other words, can I replace my ordinary single rail PSU that I am curently using (with A8N-E), with the dual rail PSU? Please clarify since I plan to buy a better one. And what are the approximate street prices of 350 W and 400 W Antec SMPSs? I feel the online stores charge too much.
     
  10. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    ATA only upto 133 MBPS
    SATA I 1.5 GBPS
    SATA II 3.0 GBPS
     
  11. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    It was about 6 months back that I bought my Hitachi 80 GB SATA II HDD. When used, it was shown as SATA I and when I searched their web site, it was known that the disks are shipped as SATA I due to compatibility problems and that it could be upgraded to SATA II by using the tool mentioned above. I dounloaded the Feature Tool and the Manual and I came to know that to use it I need a FDD. Having abandoned the FDD long back, I did not want to fit it in my new system. Today when I happened to visit their site again, there was a CD Image of the same SW. So I downloaded it and upgraded the disc successfully to SATA II using it. When rebooted, NCQ also became enabled.

    When I tested the drive speed it was
    Theoretical Limit -300 MBPS
    Sustained Speed -60 MBPS

    Previously it was
    Theoretical Limit -150 MBPS
    Sustained Speed -60 MBPS

    So it seems that for practical reasons, it is of absolutely no use! We can only boast of 3GBPS.
     
  12. mohit sharma

    mohit sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ghaziabad , India , Earth , Universe
    one query :: i had non SATA hdd samsung 40 gb 7200 rpm , can i be and use sata or sata 2 hdd with the old hard drive simultaneosly i.e. on other IDE ?????
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2006
  13. MegaD3th3K

    MegaD3th3K New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wht is raid, ide ...
    how do i find wat (ATA,SATA I, SATA II) my hdd is?
    wat is sustained speed? is it something like wat nero shows when copying CD/DVD?
    How do i find the sustained speed?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page