Browsing net with phone

Discussion in 'Mobiles and Tablets' started by abhi_shake, May 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abhi_shake

    abhi_shake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Andromeda
    Does browsing net with your GPRS phone give good speeds? What if it has EDGE in it?
    I somewhere read that AIRTEL connection for net and unlimited downloads is Rs 150, and download speed is around 13to 14 kbps. That's much better than my 64 kbps broadband which gives 8 to 9 kbps download. So is this true?
     
  2. Tech.Masti

    Tech.Masti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ( 22.2° N, 88.2° E )
    Please tell me the circle name of BSNL unlimited 199 GPRS service. i find on BSNL site that it's Rs.349pm. and how the speed & service is because we all know about BSNL's SERVICE.
     
  3. krishnansurya

    krishnansurya New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    www.technik.co.in
    Well currently I am browing internet thorugh my EDGE phone only woth AirTel and its really good...During Nights u get the speed of 10 or 12 KBps.
     
  4. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    got around 9-11 KBps with my Motorola C650 phone which was a GPRS class 10 phone ... am getting around 25-28 KBps now with my Nokia 6681 phone which is a EDGE class 10 multislot B phone ... both on airtel gprs for 250 bucks unlimited ... so i guess it really depends upon the phone a lot ...

    Hmm ... where do u live ??? and what edge class does ur phone belong to ???
     
  5. Najesh

    Najesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Siliguri

    More then Phone it depends on the region and how strong is the Operator's network?coz i m having 6630 which u know has got all features of ur phone 6681 but still i get a speed of 40kbps only.
     
  6. digital_mech

    digital_mech New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    If u have EDGE enabled phone and u live in mumbai, u r lucky, like me. I am getting 15 kb/s @ 12Rs a day. Thats good n very much affordable.
     
  7. montsa007

    montsa007 ~Bulletproof Monk~

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    dude u will be killed surfin at 8-9 kbps and its worst to imagine the download speeds coz u get just the 10% of surfin speeds so my advice 4get it
     
  8. din

    din Tribal Boy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cochin , Kerala
    .
    I use Airtel GPRS when I am on the move (Lappy). Speed is ok kinda, like for email checking and chat etc. Not good for file download or upload. Airtel has advance rental scheme for postpaid conn, that is Rs.1500 for 1 yr unlimited, that is Rs.125 for one month(unlimited).

    Speed - from DSL Reports

    Your download speed : 38 kbps or 4.7 KB/sec.

    Your upload speed : 10 kbps or 1.2 KB/sec.
    .
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2006
  9. sidewinder

    sidewinder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bengal
    I use airtel mobile office with my 3230 and n70 with no different in speed..
    Speed ranges from 3-7 kbps in day time to 15-25 kbps at night..
    It costs me around rs 8/day..
    a very good deal for me!!
     
  10. Tech.Masti

    Tech.Masti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ( 22.2° N, 88.2° E )

    Thanks for reply. yah, i see the newsflash on the BSNL site. But i think in my Airtel Lifetime prepaid, only using for GPRS @Rs.250/- is better than BSNL@Rs.199/-. because i have to recharge airtel with Rs.300/- top up everymonth , and for BSNL its (Rs199+Rs.100)=Rs.299 (Rs.100/- is for Postpaid rental).but airtel supports EDGE and BSNL doesn't.
    so i think AIRTEL is still better for GPRS net. But yah, their CC Exec. are really *******, they know nothing.

    i have to call them 4 times to activate mobile office. first 3 times, executives are give me 3 types of information about minimum balance(really confusing ). after that 4th exec. told me that the first 3 executives gives me wrong information BY MISTAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that's really horrible. after a lot of harassment i can finally activated MO.
    i am from WB . dont know about other circles. speed is much better than dial-up, and when i download something with download manager i got 8-9KBps on my nokia 3220. but who you guys going to activate GPRS net, be prepare for hear some confusing words from CC executives.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2006
  11. Najesh

    Najesh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Siliguri

    Where in bengal man,i get a speed of only 40kbps in bengal
     
  12. Tech.Masti

    Tech.Masti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ( 22.2° N, 88.2° E )
    i am from south kolkata, what about you?
     
  13. Tech.Masti

    Tech.Masti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ( 22.2° N, 88.2° E )
    i am from south kolkata. what about you?
     
  14. BharatPremi

    BharatPremi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know the settings for Nokia 7710 for BSNL GPRS?

    Its not mentioned on their website. I tried settings given for other sets, but it doesnt work. I am from East Zone, so the settings are given in kolkata bsnl site, which dont work...
     
  15. Jennifer Karmakar

    Jennifer Karmakar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guys please help me!

    Hello everyone,

    I am a rookie and I do not know about any of the IT jargons used here.

    I am planning to buy a Nokia N93 only to get a good internet connection
    for my laptop. Is there a way I can get a connection which is close to
    BSNL broadband (256 kbps)
    ?

    I only know that N93 has 3G which supports 384kbps and EDGE (class 32)
    which supports 296kbps speed
    . So can I download something @ 25 KB/sec
    or better?

    Thank you very much for your advice (and suggestions). I am from Kolkata
    (some guys pronounce the name CALL-KAATA or KOLKATTA).

    Best regards

    Jennifer
     
  16. dinesh_mettur

    dinesh_mettur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TamilNadu
    if u r a casulal surfer go for airtel mobile office it is cheaper (Rs 20 per day)

    speed : 4.5 to 7.5 at day time
    15 to 25 kbps at night

    if u r a regular downloader go for airtel bradband Rs 700 (unlimited plan)
    available in tamilnadu and karnataka only

    speed : 20kbps at day time
    30kbps at night
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page